Skip to main content
Carrier & Rose - | Music -

Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

If you are off campus, you need to set up your computer to access the databases and journals. Click here for instructions.

Loading...

Need Help with Research?

Try Research Guides

Report a Problem

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Through both primary resources and secondary scholarship, this database explores not only slavery and institutionalized discrimination, but the contributions of individuals from the African American community in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics.
*ACCESS EXPIRES 10/16/18*
Trial
This database is composed of primary source material that explore the history of American Consumer Culture in the twentieth century via three key themes: research into consumer motivation, the advertising process and the products themselves. It is made up of three related subsets: J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America, Market Research and American Business and Trade Catalogues and the American Home.
*ACCESS EXPIRES 10/4/18*
Trial
Through the works of Native American writers and contributors, this database illuminates the historical and contemporary practices and tribulations of Native American tribes from all regions of North America, giving a new perspective to colonial conflict, trade, wars, American policy towards Native lands, assimilation, and more.
*ACCESS EXPIRES 10/16/18*
  • paid by JMU
New
The CB Insights platform provides insight into market trends by analyzing data points in areas such as venture capital, startups, patents, partnerships, and news mentions.
Trial
Was founded in 1922 to provide a forum for serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs. The articles deal with questions of international interest today, covering a broad range of subjects, not only political but historical and economic, and accompanied by maps and diagrams.
*ACCESS EXPIRES 10/14/18*
Trial
A comprehensive resource of eBooks for researchers in the Earth Sciences.
*ACCESS EXPIRES 9/30/18*
Trial
Is a fully searchable modern database of research dating from 1910 to 1983, containing 800,000 records, providing a global picture of international public health research both past and present. Together they paint a picture past epidemics, from rates and patterns of transmission, duration of pandemics, timing of epidemiological peaks, geographic distribution of diseases, government preparedness and quarantine provisions.
*USERS MUST SELECT GLOBAL HEALTH FROM THE DROP DOWN*
*ACCESS EXPIRES 9/28/18*
Trial
This database features articles and essays from Latino authors and contributors to explore topics such as immigration, civil rights, the Chicano movement, economic adversity, and the tension between forming Latino communities while simultaneously assimilating into American culture.
*ACCESS EXPIRES 10/16/18*
  • paid by JMU
New
MLA Directory of Periodicals provides information on journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, rehtoric, and folklore
  • paid by JMU
New
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Trial
This database explores 10 modern genocides in depth, including the events of the genocides and the factors that led to them, discernible repeating patterns in history, and the blatant human and civil rights violations which occurred during these atrocities.
*ACCESS EXPIRES 10/16/18*
  • paid by JMU
Trial
A database composed of evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.
*Access Expires 10/29/18*
  • paid by JMU
New
The online database for the directories American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States, Uniworld provides contact information for headquarters, subsidiaries, branches and executives of multinational companies with headquarters in over 200 Countries and 20,000 industries.
  • paid by JMU
New
An online version of the Wall Street Journal
*Users will have to create an individual account using their JMU email address*
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...