Skip to main content
Genomic and Sequencing Resources
"The NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. There are approximately 126,551,501,141 bases in 135,440,924 sequence records in the traditional GenBank divisions and 191,401,393,188 bases in 62,715,288 sequence records in the WGS division as of April 2011."
Sequence Read Archive (SRA)
The Sequence Read Archive (SRA) stores raw sequence data from "next-generation" sequencing technologies including 454, IonTorrent, Illumina, SOLiD, Helicos and Complete Genomics. In addition to raw sequence data, SRA now stores alignment information in the form of read placements on a reference sequence.
SRA is NIH’s primary archive of high-throughput sequencing data and is part of the international partnership of archives (INSDC) at the NCBI, the European Bioinformatics Institute and the DNA Database of Japan. Data submitted to any of the three organizations are shared among them.
"The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families."
NCBI YouTube Channel
Search the NCBI video tutorials for genomic and bioinformatic related resources.
Global Genome Biodiversity Network (GGBN)
The main focus of the DNA Bank Network is to enhance taxonomic, systematic, genetic, conservation and evolutionary studies by providing high quality, long-term storage of DNA material on which molecular studies have been performed, so that results can be verified, extended, and complemented, as well as complete on-line documentation of each sample, including the provenance of the original material, the place of voucher deposit, information about DNA quality and extraction methodology, digital images of vouchers and links to published molecular data if available.
Portal to U.S. Dept of Energy Genomic sites
Gateway to the Genomic Science Program, the Human Genome Project archive, the Microbial Genome Program archive, and the Genomic Image Gallery.
European Bioinformatics Institute
The EBI site contains links to several genomic and sequence databases, as well as tools for data manipulation.
DDBJ : DNA Data Bank of Japan
DNA Data Bank of Japan is the sole nucleotide sequence data bank in Asia, which is officially certified to collect nucleotide sequences from researchers and to issue the internationally recognized accession number to data submitters.
An Open Access publication devoted to "articles on all aspects of the development, testing and novel application of computational and statistical methods for the modeling and analysis of all kinds of biological data, as well as other areas of computational biology."