Hydrology Reference Books at JMU
This page lists some of the hydrology related reference books at JMU. Click on the titles to view book records in the JMU Library Catalog.
Note that most of these books are located in Rose Library but some are available online. Books located in the reference section may be used in the library or checked out for a period of 4 days, while books located in the stacks may be checked out for 4 months at a time. See the JMU Libraries Checkout and Renewal Policy for more information.
General Science
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and TechnologyCall Number: Rose Ref Q121 .M3 2002Publication Date: 2002-04-0120-volume encyclopedia covering all aspects of science and technology. Also available online (Access Science).
General Hydrology
Water: Science and IssuesCall Number: eBook GB655 .D37 2003 InternetThis encyclopedia brings together contributors from the full range of disciplines concerned with the science, politics, and economics of water. Online only.
Handbook of HydrologyCall Number: Rose Stacks GB 662.5 .M35 1993A highly practical reference on both the theory and practice involved.
Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water ResourcesCall Number: Rose Ref GB655 .E53 1998A reference covering the exploitation of new sources of water, the protection and management of existing reserves, and the science of surface water and groundwater flow.
Encyclopedia of Coastal ScienceCall Number: Rose Ref TC203.7 .E53 2005A handy reference covering coastal ecology, coastal engineering, geomorphology, and oceanography. Also available online.
Climatology
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric SciencesCall Number: Rose Ref QC854 .E522 2003This authoritative resource covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences - including both theory and applications...It is written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest information in the field.
Handbook of Weather, Climate, and Water: Atmospheric Chemistry, Hydrology, and Societal ImpactsCall Number: Rose Ref QC861.3 .P67 2003A comprehensive survey of fundamental principles and the latest research on atmospheric, climatic, and hydrologic sciences.
Handbook of Weather, Climate and Water: Dynamics, Climate, Physical Meteorology, Weather Systems, and MeasurementsCall Number: Rose Ref QC880 .H34 2003Addresses atmospheric dynamics, physical meteorology, weather systems and measurements, providing coverage of the fundamentals of atmospheric sciences needed to understand weather systems and applications.
Water Analysis
Handbook of Water Analysis, 3rd Ed.Call Number: Rose Ref QD142 .H36 2014Provides a comprehensive view of water analysis including parts of water chemistry.
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water & WastewaterCall Number: Rose Ref QD142 .A5 2012Methods and techniques suitable for the examination of many types of samples encountered in the assessment and control of water quality and water pollution.
Water Pollution and Purification
Pollution A to ZCall Number: Rose Ref TD 173 .P65 2004This encyclopedia explains key concepts, current issues, research, and legislation related to pollution of air, land, space, and water. Also available online.
Handbook of Environmental AnalysisCall Number: eBook TD193 .P38 2010 InternetCovers all aspects of environmental analysis. Completely revised and updated to include new analytical techniques as well as additional chemical structures and reactions. Online only.
Water and Wastewater TechnologyCall Number: Rose Ref TD345 .H25 2008A detailed examination of the water processing cycle. Deals with concepts and practices in water supply and distribution, sewage treatment, and water reuse.
Handbook of Water and Wastewater Treatment TechnologyCall Number: Rose Ref TD430 .C4593 1995A collection of useful information relating to the treatment of water and wastewater for municipal, sanitary, and industrial uses.
Stormwater Effects HandbookCall Number: Rose Ref TD657 .B86 2002Assists scientists and regulators in determining when stormwater runoff causes adverse effects in receiving waters. Supplies assessment strategies, sample testing and collection methods, and includes illustrative figures and tables.
Water Use and Management
Water: A Shared ResponsibilityCall Number: Rose Stacks HD1691 .W37 2006A UNESCO world water development report addressing international issues related to water supply, water management, and water quality.
Encyclopedia of Water ScienceCall Number: Rose Ref S494.5 .W3 E54 2003A nice reference on agricultural water use, irrigation, and water supply.
Freshwater IssuesCall Number: Rose Stacks TD345 .S65 2002An easy-to-use handbook containing overviews of various freshwater issues such as water supply, water rights management, facts and data, a directory of State and Federal agencies, and a bibliography of suggested readings.
Water Encyclopedia by Call Number: Rose Ref TD345 .L393 2005The Water Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource -- water.
