Skip to main content
Search & Find
Find subject & course-specific resources curated by JMU librarians
Find articles, books, movies, and more
Find books, e-books and more
Find research databases by name and subject
Find journals by title
Find videos in our collection
Find recordings, sheet music & more
Find rare books, manuscripts, archive materials, and images
JMU Scholarly Commons
Find JMU faculty scholarship, journals, and more
Library Website Search
Search our site for people, services, and more
Call Number Locations
Find out where something is by its call number
Research Support & Teaching
Ask the Library
Help for students and faculty with research, teaching, technology, and more
Browse subject-specific resources curated by JMU librarians
Browse course-specific resources curated by JMU librarians
Find the librarian assigned to your department or major
Madison Research Essentials Toolkit
Watch tutorials about information literacy
Save citations, organize your research, and create bibliographies
Workshops, Programs, & Institutes
Register for learning opportunities for students and faculty
Innovate your teaching with an ACT Grant
Faculty can request information literacy sessions, custom instruction, digital assignment instruction, and more
Schedule a Consultation
We offer faculty in-depth help with research, technology, instruction, and more
Get immediate or in-depth help with classroom technology or learning technology
Research & Publishing
Learn how to connect to other researchers, copyright, open access publishing, and more
Find out about creating plans, using best practices, data repositories, and more
Open Educational Resources
Learn about using OER’s in your classes or how to create your own
Deposit and find JMU-authored research in our institutional repository
Get support for digital projects and assignments; experiment with emerging technologies, and more
Services & Spaces
Book a Group Study
Find a room where your group can work
Find a place to study, floorplans, building features, and more
Makerspaces with VR, 3D Printing, media labs, and more
Printing, Scanning, & Software
Learn about our printing and scanning services and what software is on our public computers
Checkout cameras, microphones, and more
Learn more about library services that assure access for all users
Borrow & Renew
Learn who can borrow, what can be checked out, how to renew, and more
Find resources assigned to a class by your professor or place items on reserve
Find out about services for distance learners
Document & Library Material Delivery
Request duplication and/or delivery of journal articles, book chapters, sheet music, and more
Request books, media, and articles not owned by JMU
Get help making videos for courses, convert media, and more
Learn how to access library resources from off campus
Suggest a Purchase
Suggest a resource you think we should have
Library hours for our locations
Library faculty & staff directory
Give to JMU Libraries
Help strengthen the libraries
Apply for a job in the library
Find out about our upcoming events
Come view our displays
Find out the latest news from the libraries
Learn about libraries policies and procedures
Connect with the libraries via social media
Learn about our commitment to diversity
About the Libraries
Statistics, reports, organization charts and more
Top Level Guides
Search this Guide
Competitive Intelligence: Background Info
Resources for Intelligence Analysis students in the Competitive Intelligence concentration.
IA: Competitive Intelligence Home
North American Industry Classification System (US Census Bureau)
Use the keyword search to locate a 6-digit code that represents your industry category. This number can then be used in other business research sources. See the
for more information.
Standard Industrial Classification (US Dept. of Labor)
Search for a 4-digit code that you can use to identify your industry in other business research sources.
Company & Industry Information
This link opens in a new window
Contains U.S. and international publicly-held company data and reports.
IBISWorld is a collection of Industry Market Research reports of over 700 United States industries; includes US Specialized Industry Reports.
LexisNexis Company Dossier
Includes business and financial news, company financial information, market research, industry reports, and SEC filings.
US Venture Capital & Private Equity Database
Contains data on investment firms in the United States, including venture capitalists, private equity firms, angels, incubators, merchant banks, fund of funds, economic development groups, and more.
PrivCo offers access to business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. *Users must create a free, personal account*
Business Source Complete
Includes country economic reports, detailed company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses.
More Company Information Resources
More Industry Information Resources
Financial & Economic Information
OECD (Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development) provides up-to-date statistics, economic and social data, economic forecasts, and more.
World Economic Outlook
Macroeconomic data by country from the International Monetary Fund. Includes inflation, unemployment, commodity prices, trade data, etc.
WRDS provides access to financial datasets from COMPUSTAT (public companies), CRSP (security prices) and CUSIP Master File (financial instruments issuers), and RiskMetrics (corporate governance).
More Statistics and Datasets
Patent Searching Tutorial (UM)
This interactive guide from the University of Minnesota shows how to search in Google Patents and the USPTO database.
Overview of Patents
Lynda.com video tutorial covering the basics of patents, how to obtain them, and patent infringement.
7-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy Guide (PDF)
From the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). See also their
Seven Step Strategy
Full-text search of patents from the USPTO, EPO, JPO, SIPO, WIPO, DPMA, and CIPO.
US Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database
Full text database of U.S. patents from 1976 to the present. Also includes patent number, date, and classification for patents 1790-1975.
IA: Competitive Intelligence Home
Oct 22, 2018 9:56 AM
Login to LibApps