Useful Psychology Background Research Tools
- Gale Encyclopedia of PsychologyThis is the perfect resource for when you encounter an unfamiliar term or idea in an article and you want to quickly learn more about it.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental HealthProvides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions.
- Handbook of PsychologyHandbooks provide useful context about both the history of psychology and different aspects of the field. If you ever want to know why certain standards and practices exist, this is a good place to start.
- Oxford Dictionary of PsychologyQuickly get a short definition of an unfamiliar term in psychology.
- Noba ProjectFree psychology modules
- JoVE Science Education: Psychology Module This link opens in a new windowIncludes Essentials of Behavioral Science, Essentials of Experimental Psychology, and Essentials of Cognitive Psychology.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals concerning emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental health, and experimental methods, etc.
Psychology Reference Books
21st Century Psychology by Call Number: BF131 .A15 2008ISBN: 9781412949682Via 100 entries or 'mini-chapters', this two-volume set provides an authoritative reference source that serve students research needs. It highlights the most important topics, issues, questions and debates any psychology student ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
The Cambridge Dictionary of PsychologyCall Number: BF31 .C28 2009The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of PsychologyCall Number: REF BF31 .E52 2010Readers will benefit from up-to-date and authoritative coverage of every major area of psychology.
A Dictionary of PsychologyCall Number: Internet ResourceComprehensive and jargon-free, the Dictionary of Psychology is an invaluable work of reference for students of psychology and related disciplines, professionals, and the general reader with an interest in the workings of the mind.
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological TheoriesCall Number: Internet ResourceThis work will survey the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience.
Handbook of Social PsychologyCall Number: HM1011 .H37 2010The Handbook of Social Psychology is the foremost reference that academics, researchers, and graduate students in psychology turn to for the most current, well-researched, and thorough information covering the field of social psychology.
