Background Sources
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict, 3 vols.
Ref HM 291.E625 2008. Also online; link via the JMU Catalog.
International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management, 1945-1995
Ref D 842. B46 1997
Nonviolent Action: A Research Guide
Ref HM 278.M33 1997
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace, 2010
Online; link via the JMU Catalog.
Protest, Power, and Change: An Encyclopedia of Nonviolent Action from ACT-UP to Women's Suffrage
Ref HM 278.P76 1997
World Encyclopedia of Peace, 8 vols.
Ref JZ 5533.W671999
Finding Books
Use the JMU Catalog to search for books and media in the JMU Libraries.
Use WorldCat to extend your search beyond JMU to find book, media, and other sources that you may request via Interlibrary Loan.
Some useful Subject Headings for finding material in the JMU Catalog and in WorldCat:
| Arab-Israeli conflict, 1993 [or other conflict]--Peace |
Nonviolence |
| Conflict management | Peace [and related subjects] |
| International cooperation | Peace -- International cooperation |
| Non-governmental organizations--[place] | Reconciliation |
Research Databases
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts political science articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
- PAIS International
This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications on all subjects that relate to contemporary public issues. Includes PAIS Archive
- CIAO This link opens in a new windowDocuments and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- Congressional Research Service Reports This link opens in a new windowNonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues including: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry.
- Europa World This link opens in a new windowInformation covering political elections, economics, important people, country profiles and industry statistics in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains several full-text databases: current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, tax information, biographies, and more.
Biography
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 480,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
To find biographical sources in the JMU Catalog, do a subject search for the person starting with last name first, e.g., King, Martin Luther Jr. 1929-1968.
The two databases below can help you find further biographical sources.
- Biography and Genealogy Master IndexIndexes more than 10 million biographical sketches from reference books. Find a citation and then look in the JMU Catalog to see if JMU Libraries has the reference source.
News and Current Events
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains several full-text databases: current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, tax information, biographies, and more.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business resources including full text periodicals, news photographs, company reports, and financial data. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for ethnic, minority, and international newspapers and magazines.