Research Guides: Materials Science: Background Information

Background Information

These resources can help give you a quick overview of a topic with more credibility than Wikipedia or a broad Google search.

When searching these resources:

use broad terms and concepts
- instead of "copper disruption of zinc-finger domain," try "zinc finger," "DNA binding," or "protein binding" to get more information on binding mechanisms.
use synonyms or related concepts
- river bank plant --> riparian vegetation, hydrophilic plant, wetland.

If you have difficulty finding your information among these sources, contact me.

**Note that print reference books are located in the Reference Area in the Rose Library**

This search box searches Library Search.

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new window
Reference resource containing encyclopedia articles, illustrations, definitions, biographies, bibliographies, and learning resources covering all major science disciplines.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of over 7,000 materials and provides sample images of materials, plus descriptions, processing information, usage properties, etc.

Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
Data and standards relating to all aspects of mechanical engineering. Includes sections on power generation, transportation engineering, manufacturing processes, and emerging technologies.

O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video.