Research Guides: Economics: Finding articles

Best bets to search for economic journal articles

You must download and log in to the Pulse secure client before you access these resources -- whether on-campus or off-campus.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s:) Abstracts to peer-reviewed articles. Use the Check for Full Text @ JMU button to access the article's full-text.
Dates covered: 1969 to present

SSRN Economics Research Network
Content types: Open access collection of social science research working papers, accepted papers, published papers, and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1994-present

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology. The Check for Full Text @ JMU buttons will connect you to full-text, if it's available.
Dates covered: 1872-present
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Peer-reviewed journals, industry and market research reports, magazines, news, SWOTS
Dates covered: 1922-present
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Content types: Abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals. The Check for Full Text @ JMU buttons will connect you to an article's full-text, if it's available.
Dates covered: 1966-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Content type(s):Full text and images for back issues of scholarly journals in social sciences, e-books.
Dates covered: 1800s to 3 - 5 years ago

Search these resources for recent news articles to use in class or for online discussion boards.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Current news, company information, foreign language news, broadcast transcripts
Dates covered: Current
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content types: Business news sources, company press releases and reports
Dates covered: Current

The Economist (JMU subscription)
Content type(s): Business news and analysis
Dates covered: Jan 4, 1992 to present
Bloomberg businessweek (JMU subscription)
Content type(s): Business news and analysis
Dates covered: 1997- present

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Wall Street Journal
Note: First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Access is available in the Library Catalog but you can also sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.

Harvard Business Review (JMU subscription)
Content type(s): Articles and case studies
Dates covered:1922 to present

Browse by Subject

Often, simply searching the title of an article in quotation marks in Google Scholar will bring you to the electronic version.

Follow these steps to link Google Scholar to JMU libraries. Then you should be able to click Get JMU Access to open the article.

This video shows how to identify the journal title from a citation.

If JMU doesn't have full-text available, we can borrow it from another library -- at no cost to you -- through our Interlibrary Loan service.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books, journal articles, and other materials NOT available in the JMU Libraries.