Skip to main content
Provides access to over 100,000 downloadable music tracks, sound effects, and loops.
ccMixter is devoted to helping you find music, which is liberally licensed under a Creative Commons license so you already have permission to use this music in your video, podcast, school project, personal music player, or where ever… We even have several 1,000 tracks that already have permission to use in commercial projects for free. The musicians' community at ccMixter make modern, challenging, but satisfying music that they want you to hear.
Free Music Archive (FMA)
Free Music Archive is a library of legal audio downloads that have been cleared for certain types of uses. Individual rightsholders determine how their works can be used. Please see FMA's about page and FAQs for more information. FMA is inspired by Creative Commons and the open source software movement.
Free-Loops.com is a one-stop-shop for free loops and audio clip downloads covered by Creative Commons. Categories of sounds include sound effects, drum loops, bass, instruments, and vocal, plus more! Free-Loops.com also provides free multimedia software and tools to help you edit or convert sound or video files.
SoundClick is part of the free music community and features signed and unsigned bands. Offers free member profiles, mp3 downloads, streaming audio and video, music charts, radio stations, and lyrics. Includes a proprietary music store.
YouTube Creator Studio
YouTube Creator Studio includes an audio library of free music.
Resources with a Historical Focus
National Jukebox (Library of Congress)
National Jukebox contains over 10,000 historical sound recordings from the Library of Congress music collections. These recordings have been made freely available in streaming format with permission from Sony Music Entertainment. Sound content includes popular music, dance music, opera, jazz, speeches, poetry and humor.