Types of Language Resources
Browsing Areas
PC 2001-3800 – French language
Note: Books are located in Carrier Library and may be shelved either in Reference on the first floor or on the third floor in the circulating collection.
Subject Headings
The following are examples of subject headings that will help you find relevant books in LEO, the library catalog.
French Language
French Language – Dictionaries
French Language – Grammar
French Language – Verb – Tables
Dictionaries
- Collins Robert French-English, English-French Dictionary: Unabridged
Call Number: PC2640 .C69 1998
Location: Carrier Reference - Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue française
Call Number: PC2580 .D3
Location: Carrier Reference - Encyclopédie du bon français dans l’usage contemporain; difficultés, subtilités, complexités, singularités
Call Number: PC2460 .D88
Location: Carrier Reference - Pièges et difficulties de la langue française
Call Number: PC2460 .G57 2007
Location: Carrier Reference - Le Nouveau Petit Robert
Call Number PC2625 .R62 1993
Location: Carrier Reference - The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French
Call Number: PC2640 .O83 2001
Location: Carrier Reference - The Oxford-Duden Pictorial French and English Dictionary
Call Number: PC2680 .O93 1996
Location: Carrier Reference
Grammars & Conjugation Guides
- La grammaire d’aujourd’hui: guide alphabétique de linguistique française
Call Number: PC2112 .A77 1986
Location: Carrier Stacks - La conjugaison pour tous
Call Number: PC2105 .B48 2006 v.1
Location: Carrier Stacks - La grammaire pour tous
Call Number: PC2105 .B48 2006 v.3
Location: Carrier Stacks - Pièges et difficultés de la langue française
Call Number: PC2460 .G57 2007
Location: Carrier Reference - A Comprehensive French Grammar
Call Number: PC2112 .P75 2008
Location: Carrier Stacks
Idioms & Quotations
- On va le dire comme ça: dictionnaire des expressions quotidiennes
Call Number: PC2689 .B475 2008
Location: Carrier Reference - Dictionary of Modern French Idioms
Call Number: PC2460 .G46
Location: Carrier Reference - A Guide to Contemporary French Idiom: With English Translations
Call Number: PC2474 .R69 1997
Location: Carrier Reference
Pronunciation Guides
- Dictionnaire de la Prononciation Française dans sa Norme Actualle
Call Number: PC2167 .W3 1987
Location: Carrier Reference
Thesauri
- Dictionnaire de synonymes, mots de sens voisin et contraires
Call Number: PC2591 .B445 2007
Location: Carrier Reference - Dictionnaire de synonymes et contraires
Call Number: PC2591 .B443 1998
Location: Carrier Reference - Synonymes, analogies et antonymes
Call Number: PC2591 .B687 2007
Location: Carrier Reference - The Cambridge French-English Thesaurus
Call Number: PC2591 .L24 1998
Location: Carrier Reference
Online Resources
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) An index with abstracts to journal articles, books, papers, monographs, dissertations on all aspects of language, including sociolinguistics, lexicology, grammar, speech pathology, speech disorders, language acquisition. Search this for scholarly articles on the French language
- ARTFL: American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language Provides access to the complete text of nearly 2,000 French works that were used to create the Tresor de la Langue Francaise.
- Oxford Reference Online Database of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects. Includes French-English dictionaries
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info Contact me for research help. 540-568-6360 hardespn@jmu.edu Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
