Resources for Community Practice
- Healthy Community CouncilNote the 2016 Assessment Link
Finding Books to Use
Use the JMU Library Catalog to find books. Just a hint, when you are searching for books, you are really searching a record FOR a book. You are searching the titles, tables of contents, and subjects.
Use WORLDCAT to locate books we don't have in our catalog, this is research database that searches many library collections at once, and you would do this after you have tried using our catalog. You can borrow books we don't have via Interlibrary Loan.
Reference E-Books
Use the VPN if you trying to connect from off-campus.
Encyclopedia of Aging by Call Number: HQ1061 .E53 2006 InternetISBN: 0826148433Publication Date: 2006-02-01A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics.
Encyclopedia of gerontology : age, aging, and the aged by Call Number: AE5 .S354 InternetISBN: 9780123705303Publication Date: 2007This two-volume work is the most comprehensive work on age, aging, and the aged available.
Handbook of aging and the social sciences (7th Edition) by Call Number: e-book - HQ1061 .H336 2011 InternetISBN: 9780123808806Publication Date: 2011Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.
Reference Books
Handbook of theories of aging by Call Number: HQ1061 .H3366 2009ISBN: 9780826162519Publication Date: 2009The field of gerontology has often been criticized for being "data-rich but theory-poor." The editors of this book address this issue by stressing the importance of theory in gerontology.- Encyclopedia of gerontology : age, aging, and the aged by Call Number: Rose Reference - RC952.5 .E58 2007 v.1-2ISBN: 9780123705303Publication Date: 2007Also and e-book.
The essential guide to aging in the twenty-first century : mind, body, and behavior by Call Number: Carrier - HQ1064.U5 K39 2007ISBN: 9780826217073Publication Date: 2007This third edition of The Graying of America has been retitled, revised, and expanded. In concise, nontechnical language, it offers middle-aged and senior readers useful information on the effects of aging on health, the mind, and behavior.
The Cambridge handbook of age and ageing by Call Number: Carrier - HQ1061 .C315 2005ISBN: 0521533708Publication Date: 2005A guide to the body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists around the world.
Encyclopedia of aging by Call Number: Carrier Reference - HQ1061 .E534 2002 v.1-4ISBN: 0028654684Publication Date: 2002From the general to specific, the 400-plus well-referenced entries cover an impressive range of medical, psychological, sociological, public-policy, and biological subjects.
Aging in America A to Z by Call Number: Carrier Reference - HQ1064.U5 B379 2001ISBN: 156802584XPublication Date: 2001Aging in America A to Z is an encyclopedic roadmap to the challenging questions and potential answers facing today’s seniors and their children.
The encyclopedia of aging : a comprehensive resource in gerontology and geriatrics by Call Number: Carrier Reference and Stacks; Rose Reference - HQ1061 .E53 2001 v.1-2ISBN: 0826148425Publication Date: 2001Since its inception in 1987, The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.
Contact your librarian
Articles & More
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index of age-related content like the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas relevant to geriatric studies. - AgeLine This link opens in a new windowMaterials related to gerontology and aging from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
- ProPublica - Nursing Home InspectUse this tool to search more than 20,000 nursing home inspection reports . . .
- ProPublica - Best Watchdog Journalism on Elderly CareProPublica's collection of watchdog reporting on elderly care.
Journals
Use the VPN if you trying to connect from off-campus.
- Geriatrics and gerontology internationalGeriatrics & Gerontology International is the official Journal of the Japan Geriatrics Society ...
- Journal of Aging StudiesThe Journal of Aging Studies features scholarly papers offering new interpretations that challenge existing theory and empirical work.
- Ageing & SocietyAgeing & Society is an interdisciplinary and international journal devoted to the understanding of human ageing and the circumstances of older people ...
- Gerontology & Geriatrics EducationThe official journal of the Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) ...
- Research on agingResearch on Aging (ROA), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is an interdisciplinary journal designed to reflect the expanding role of research in the field of social gerontology.
- Journal of Cross-Cultural Gerontology Journal of Cross-Cultural GerontologyOffers an international and interdisciplinary forum for discussion of the aging process and the problems of the aged throughout the world.
- Journal of Religion, Spirituality & AgingOffers timely information and probing articles on such subjects as long-term care for the aging, support systems for families of the aging, retirement, counseling, death, ethical issues, and more.
- Experimental Aging ResearchExperimental Aging Research is a life span developmental and aging journal dealing with research on the aging process from a psychological and psychobiological perspective.