Annual Register of Grant Support: A Directory of Funding Sources
Carrier Library Reference Collection
Call Number: AS911.A2 A67
The Foundation Directory
Carrier Library Reference Collection
Call Number: AS911.A2 F65
- COS Funding Opportunities
Search for grants, fellowships, prizes and other types of funding opportunities.
Find and apply for federal grants.
- Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Search this government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government.
- Institute of Museum and Library Services
The mission of IMLS is to inspire libraries and museums to advance innovation, lifelong learning, and cultural and civic engagement.
- National Endowment for the Arts
Awards from the NEA support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. The NEA extends its work through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector.
- National Institutes of Health, Office of Extramural Research
Provides assistance in applying for NIH funding and grant operations.
- National Science Foundation: Funding
The National Science Foundation (NSF) was created to "promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" Funds projects in many fields such as: mathematics, computer science and the social sciences.
- Nonprofit Quarterly
NPQ provides credible research-based articles for nonprofits about management and governance. Register on the site to access content. They also share great information on their Facebook and Twitter accounts. Access to older material isn't available without a subscription, but any article can be requested via our Interlibrary Loan service.
- Voluntary Sector Review
An international journal of third sector research, policy and practice. JMU doesn't have a subscription to this journal but you can search the journal and follow the links to request articles via our Interlibrary Loan service.
- Chronicle of Philanthropy
The Chronicle of Philanthropy is a news source, in print and online, for nonprofit leaders, fund raisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise.
- Associations Unlimited
Look up contact information and details of associations, membership organizations, and trade groups.
Look up financial records and contact information for nonprofit organizations nationwide.
- Business Source Complete
Search for business and management oriented articles from academic journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers.
A comprehensive tool for searching management and scholarly journals, news and business publications and local business news.
- Regional Business News
Search for local business news from newspapers and magazines.
- Academic Search Complete
Covers a broad range of scholarly and interdisciplinary research topics.
- Social Services Abstracts
Search articles on social work, human services, and related areas like social welfare, social policy, and community development
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
A key source for literature on communication studies and related areas.
- National Center for Charitable Statistics
Statistics on nonprofit organizations, public charity finances, volunteerism, charitable giving and foundation giving.
- USA.gov for Nonprofits
Find information and services for nonprofits, including grants, loans, assistance, taxes, management and more from the official web portal of the U.S. government.
- Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
This database contains citations to materials collected by the Foundation Center, a nonprofit resource for philanthropy information. [More details
- National Organization of Research Development Professionals
A robust, national peer network of Research Development professionals that enhances competitive multi-, inter- and transdisciplinary research.
Carrier Library Room 115
Carrier Library Reference Desk/Office Hours
Fridays 11-1 and by appointment
Office in Carrier 1C (Basement):
Walk-ins or appointment
SOWK Office (HHS 2135) Hours:
Thursdays 1-3Send Email