Research Guides: SMAD 498: Photojournalism History & Theory: SMAD 498

Documentaries

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 25,000 videos. Under "Subject," choose Media & Communications to find documentaries on Journalism, Advertising, and more.

Newseum: Pulitzer Prize Photographs Gallery (on Flickr)
Not an official site, but this Flickr user has collected together a display of photographs that have won the Pulitzer Prize. Easier to browse then the official Pulitzer Prize website, but less information--so check both.
Pulitzer Prizes: Past Winners
Awards honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures.
Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account

Browse the Stacks!
A great way to find an iconic photograph is to browse the stacks. Most photojournalism books are located in Rose Library.
- TR820 Photojournalism
- TR624-835 Applied photography (Including artistic, commercial, medical photography, photocopying processes)

Free Media for Creative Use
by Brian Flota Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 2118 views this year

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Article index with some full text in the fields of communication and mass media studies.

Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts for articles and reproductions from art periodicals published throughout the world.
Artbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on modern and contemporary art.

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
A biographical resource for notable people in American history.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on over 480,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering art and artists worldwide in all fields of the visual arts.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of 55,000 deceased men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times and all walks of life.

Journal of Gender Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Available via Taylor & Francis Online
Studies in Gender and Sexuality
- This link opens in a new window
Available via Taylor & Francis Online

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering the core disciplines in women’s studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects.

Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Index of essays in the humanities and social sciences on topics including literary works, art history, drama, film, and more.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in the subjects of gerontology, history, international relations, journalism, law, linguistics, and many more subjects.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books, and other published resources pertaining to the humanities from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.