This guide lists resources for conducting research about social work.
This guide links to resources for the field of social work. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of this guide.
The below are a few article databases to start with. Use the tabs above to find more resources.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work
The new Encyclopedia of Social Work from the National Association of Social Workers Press and Oxford University Press contains hundreds of overview articles and biographies. The resource is updated monthly.
- SAGE Research Methods Cases
Search and browse case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand research methods in practice.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Social Work
Social Work from OBO provides bibliographic articles on the most recent theories, research, discoveries, and interpretations in the field. Topics include family policy, social work research methods, divorce, human trafficking, juvenile justice and more.
Roget's 21st Century Thesaurus, Third Edition online.
- Encyclopedia of social work with groups (full text online or ebook download)
With 110 articles and entries, this book provides a comprehensive overview of social work with groups from its initial development to its astounding range of diverse practice today with many populations in different places.
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology).
- Social Work Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles about social work. Includes subjects such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.