Types of Language Resources
Browsing Areas
PC 4001-5000 – Spanish language
Note: Books are located in Carrier Library and may be shelved either in Reference on the first floor or on the third floor in the circulating collection.
Subject Headings
The following are examples of subject headings that will help you find relevant books in LEO, the library catalog.
Spanish Language
Spanish Language – Dictionaries
Spanish Language – Grammar
Spanish Language – Verb – Tables
Dictionaries
- Enciclopedia del Idioma: Diccionario Histórico y Moderno de la Lengua Española (Siglos XII al XX) Etimológico, Tecnológico, Regional e Hispanoamericano
Call Number: PC4625 .A554 1982
Location: Carrier Reference - Diccionario crítico etimológico castellano e hispánico
Call Number: PC4580 .C59 1980
Location: Carrier Reference - Oxford Spanish Dictionary: Spanish-English/English-Spanish
Call Number: PC4640 .O94 2003
Location: Carrier Reference - Random House Latin-American Spanish Dictionary
Call Number: PC4822 .G65 2000
Location: Carrier Reference - Diccionario de la Lengua Español A searchable, web-based version of the 22nd edition of the Diccionario de la lengua española (Real Academia Española). The dictionary's text is in Spanish only.
Grammars & Conjugation Guides
- Gramática descriptiva de la lengua española
Call Number: PC4105 .G735 1999
Location: Carrier Stacks - Modern Spanish Grammar: A Practical Guide
Call Number: PC4112 .K37 2003
Location: Carrier Stacks - Nueva gramática de la lengua española
Call Number: PC4105 .N84 2009
Location: Carrier Reference
Idioms & Quotations
- Diccionario panhispánico de dudas
Call Number: PC4460 .D53 2005
Location: Carrier Stacks
Thesauri
- Using Spanish Synonyms
Call Number: PC4591 .B38 2006
Location: Carrier Reference - Diccionario de sinónimos y antónimos
Call Number: PC4591 .D538 2009
Location: Carrier Reference
Writing Guides
- The Writer’s Reference Guide to Spanish Call Number: PC4410 .F68 1999
Location: Carrier Reference
Online Resources
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) An index with abstracts to journal articles, books, papers, monographs, dissertations on all aspects of language, including sociolinguistics, lexicology, grammar, speech pathology, speech disorders, language acquisition. Search this for scholarly articles on the French language
- Oxford Reference Online Database of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects. Includes French-English dictionaries
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info Contact me for research help. 540-568-6360 hardespn@jmu.edu Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
