Skip to main content

Special Collections: Home

A general site introducing the resources available through Special Collections in Carrier Library.

Hours and Contact Information

Monday-Friday 11am to 4pm
And by appointment

Carrier Library, Room 203

Website: www.lib.jmu.edu/special
Telephone:
(540) 568-3612
Email: library-special@jmu.edu

Address:
MSC 1704
James Madison University
880 Madison Drive
Harrisonburg, VA 22807

Special Collection Materials

Located on the second floor of Carrier Library, the Special Collections of James Madison University hold both primary and secondary source materials available to researchers. The original historical material found in our collections strongly represent the Shenandoah Valley, business records, and JMU history. Rare books include 16th century religious texts, pulp fiction magazines, early American almanacs, and artists books. 

Many of the reference works in Special Collections are books on local history from small presses and publications about JMU.

Using Special Collections

The various tabs in this LibGuide will show you how to do specialized searches for the different types of material in Special Collections. Additional information is available at the Website.

To do a search in the library catalog, remember to highlight Special Collections for your location before running the search.

Anyone, including students and visitors to the university, is welcome to do research at Special Collections. Special Collections has closed stacks, so one of our staff members will  retrieve any requested library items, and researchers are only allowed to use requested items in the Reading Room. Please email if you have any questions. Useful information is also available on the visitor information page.

Head of Special Collections

Kate Morris's picture
Kate Morris
Contact:
morriskn@jmu.edu
Carrier Library 203A
540.568.3444