Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries explores the archaeologists, sites, debates, techniques, methods, and issues that are central to the global practice of archaeology. These richly illustrated volumes trace the development of the field from the ancient Greeks to the present day.
(E-book edition also available.)
The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Concentrating on the post-1400 period as well as containing generic explanations of historical archaeology where needed, the encyclopedia is compiled by over 120 experts from around the world and contains more than 370 entries covering important concepts and sites.
This sweeping work covers world cultures from prehistory through the year 700 C.E. Its three volumes stretch beyond the boundaries of the ancient world of Greece, Rome and Egypt to provide true world coverage. It is broad in scope, yet easy to use, with guides for pronunciation, geography, word usage, and time lines included.
The Encyclopedia of the Ancient World explains how ancient civilizations developed, and how they came to dominate their neighbours, how they evolved, and why they eventually declined or died out. Each entry concentrates on a particular civilization, or series of civilizations, and combines its history with an explanation of who the people were and how they lived. An examination of retrospective belief systems and myths is also included.
The Encyclopedia of Prehistory, with regionally organized entries on each major archaeological tradition, is a comprehensive overview of human history from two million years ago to the historic period.
Complete Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, as well as videos, blogs, news, research tools, and links to editor-selected websites.