Health Sciences and Kinesiology Librarian
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is one way to evaluate the quality of an article. Use these slides to learn:
- why peer review is important
- how to identify peer reviewed articles
Best Bets to Search for Scholarly Health-related Articles
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for scholarly journals focusing on nursing and allied health. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 820 journals on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. - ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents available since 1966.
Best Bets for Finding Health-Related News Articles
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business resources including full text periodicals, news photographs, company reports, and financial data. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains several full-text databases: current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, tax information, biographies, and more.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for U.S. and international newspapers, as well as TV and radio transcripts.