Health Sciences and Kinesiology Librarian
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is one way to evaluate the quality of an article. Use these slides to learn:
- why peer review is important
- how to identify peer reviewed articles
Journals in Sport Coaching
- Quest"Quest Journals are focused on quick & fast high-level peer review process on behalf of some of the world's most prestigious societies for over a century."
- International Journal of Sports Science & Coaching"The International Journal of Sports Science & Coaching is a peer-reviewed, international, academic/professional journal, which aims to bridge the gap between coaching and sports science."
- International Sport Coaching Journal"The International Sport Coaching Journal (ISCJ) is a venture of the International Council for Coaching Excellence (ICCE) and is published by Human Kinetics. Its mission is to advance the profession of coaching.
- Journal of Sports Sciences"The Journal of Sports Sciences has an international reputation for publishing articles of a high standard and is both Medline and Clarivate Analytics-listed. ... The emphasis of the Journal is on the human sciences, broadly defined and applied to sport and exercise."
- Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy"Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy. Physical Education & Sport Pedagogy publishes research into educational practices including school physical activities, club sport, and active leisure programs."
- Sports Coaching Review"Sports Coaching Review is the leading-edge critical publication for the international community of sports coaching scholars, students and practitioners."
- The Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research"The Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research is a monthly peer-reviewed medical journal which publishes research on aerobic conditioning, including physical strength. It was established in 1987 as the Journal of Applied Sport Science Research, obtaining its current name in 1993."
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. - Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journals on educational research in early childhood to higher education, educational specialties, multilingual education, health education and testing. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals concerning emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental health, and experimental methods, etc. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of scholarly publications in sociology, including journals, magazines, books, working papers, dissertations, conference proceedings, and an extensive thesaurus
