Introduction to Survey Research
Depending on the context, different databases will describe surveys & instruments using different terms. Try various similar terms when searching:
- Survey
- Instrument
- Questionnaire
- Test
Finding Surveys and Instruments
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowContains psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Focuses primarily on unpublished tests developed by researchers.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents available since 1966. - HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new windowDescriptions of behavioral tests and measurements in health fields, psychosocial sciences.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowDescriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized tests.
Positive psychological assessment: a handbook of models and measuresCall Number: BF176 .P67 2003 InternetPublication Date: 2003
Credible Websites for Finding Surveys and Instruments
- HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)HSRR is "a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software"
- Measuring Intimate Partner Violence Victimization and Perpetration: A Compendium of Assessment Tools+20 full-text scales for Intimate Partner Violence victimization and perpetration
- Measuring Violence-Related Attitudes, Behaviors, and Influences Among Youths: A Compendium of Assessment Tools - Second EditionThe measures in this compendium are intended for use with youths between the ages of 11 and 24 years, to assess such factors as violent & delinquent behavior, conflict resolution strategies, social & emotional competencies, peer influences, parental monitoring & supervision, family relationships, and others.
Data Management
As part of IRB, you are also required to manage your research data. For advice from the information science experts, check out the following areas of information: