Provides a comprehensive treatment to cover all aspects of 19th century history: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life, and foreign policy.
Covers American drama from its inception in colonial America, through its many incarnations in the nineteenth century, to the early 21st century, including a full survey of the vexing tradition of minstrelsy and the struggles of Black Americans on the stage into the 20th century.
Provides an overview of African American theatre from the early 19th century to the early 21st century. Chronicles the evolution of African American theatre and its engagement with the wider community. Spotlights producers, directors, playwrights and actors.
Documents the full range of the African American experience during the period—from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass. Shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Addresses the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today's society from the colonial period to the early 21st century. Covers topics of universal interest in America such as: rap music, sports, television, cinema, racism, religion, literature, and much more.
Covers companies from the colonial period to modern times across the U.S., anglophone Caribbean, and African-American companies touring Europe, Australia and Africa. Covers myriad styles, from African ritual to European forms, amateur to professional, and political nationalism to integration.
Call Number: Available online and in print: PN2270.A35 R68 2019
Charts the emergence, development, and diversity of African American Theatre and Performance--from the nineteenth-century African Grove Theatre to Afrofuturism in the 1990s with chapters from scholars are contributions from theatre makers, including producers, theatre managers, choreographers, directors, designers, and critics.
Using plays, poetry, performances, popular novels, and political cartoons, Heather Nathans blends American history, theatre history, and literary history to question how theatre and performance lifted the 'veil of black' on American racism in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Call Number: Available online or in Print: Reference E169.1 .A471977 2004
Contains over two thousand primary sources on twentieth-century American history and culture, featuring seventy-five different types of sources, arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports.
Streaming video (52 minutes) - Nineteen Americans who lived through those years talk about their lives in the 1920s. Covers such things as: labor strikes, the Scopes trial, the executions of Sacco and Vanzetti, poverty, racial segregation, and political scandals. Moyers and his guests reveal the complex realities behind the glitter of the times