Liaison Librarian
The London Stage: 1660-1800
The London Stage: 1660-1800 is a five-part, eleven volume timeline of theatrical performances in London over a 140-year period, originally published from 1960 to 1968.
A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers and Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800
This sixteen-volume set offers a comprehensive set of biographies about all known personnel involved in the London stage between 1660 and 1800.
Primary Sources
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) that form a comprehensive collection of early English news media.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowCross-search Gale's primary sources Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and NewsVault.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowPrimary source database offering women's diaries and letters.
- ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowDigital editions of nearly all books published in Great Britain in the 18th century as well as important books from the Americas.
- English Poetry, 600-1900 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text English and British poems from the Anglo-Saxon period to the end of 19th century. - English Verse Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of works by named and anonymous authors from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late 13th century, through the Elizabethan and Jacobean period, to British poets of the 19th century. - State Papers Online This link opens in a new windowCorrespondence, reports, parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants, etc. from British governments spanning 1509-1714.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text PDF facsimiles of specific articles as well as complete pages, including photos and advertisements, from every issue of the London Times.
Indexes
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical documents, personal papers, and family histories collected from archives across the globe.
- English Short Title Catalog (ESTC)Indexes over 480,000 that were published between 1473 and 1800 primarily in Britain and North America. Works are predominantly in English and are from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.
Websites
- British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
- Emory Women Writers Resource ProjectA collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing from the seventeenth century through the early twentieth century.
- Romantic CirclesA refereed, scholarly website for the study of literature & culture during the Romantic period.
- William Blake ArchiveComprises the works of William Blake, including illuminated manuscripts, paintings, drawings, and engravings.