Liaison Librarian
Primary Sources
- 19th Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable archive of rural and urban US newspapers from the 19th Century.
- African-American Poetry This link opens in a new windowFull text of almost 3,000 poems written between 1760 and 1900.
- America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922 This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover digitized historic newspapers from every state in the US from Readex.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1: 1760-1900 This link opens in a new windowFully searchable digitized editions of nearly 30,000 broadsides and ephemera printed in colonial America, 1760-1900.
- American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new windowDigitized American magazines and journals of all types, including America's first scientific journal, from ProQuest.
- American Poetry This link opens in a new windowWorks of the most influential American poets, colonial period to the early twentieth century; includes six landmark anthologies of American poetry.
- Archive of AmericanaContains several collections reflecting the history of the United States through its congressional publications, popular newspapers, and commercial publishing.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowCross-search Gale's primary sources Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and NewsVault.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowCollection of non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowFull-text digital books about every aspect of 17th and 18th century of American life, from religion to agriculture to diplomacy.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw - Shoemaker: 1801-1819 This link opens in a new windowCollection of fully searchable digital books, a compilation of all books published in the United States from 1801 to 1819.
- Radical Scatters: Emily Dickinson's Fragments and Related Texts, 1870-1886 This link opens in a new windowAn electronic archive of eighty-two documents carrying fragmentary texts written by Dickinson between 1870-1886, including poems, letters, and commentaries.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new windowFull text of every book about the Americas published anywhere between 1500 and 1926.
Indexes
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowHistorical documents, personal papers, and family histories collected from archives across the globe.
Websites
- American AuthorsProvides biographical information on American authors as well as links to select full-text resources. Includes a literary timeline, a guide to American literary movements, and links to American literature sites.
- American MemoryCreated by the Library of Congress, American Memory contains digitized print materials as well as audio and visual resources on American history, literature, government, and culture.
- Documenting the American SouthA full-text database of primary resources on Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes 3 digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, and Southern literature.
- Early Americas Digital ArchivesA collection of digital texts written in or about the Americas between 1492 and 1820. May be searched or browsed by author or title.
- Library of Southern LiteratureThe "Library of Southern Literature" includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924.
- Making of America (Cornell)A digital library of American social history from the antebellum period through the reconstruction with strengths in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Collection is divided between the University of Michigan and Cornell University.
- Modern American PoetryAn online journal and companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry (Oxford UP, 2000).
- Voices from the GapsCelebrates and documents the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women.
- The Walt Whitman ArchiveThe Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers.
- Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875Provides electronic access to over 2,800 volumes of 19th century American fiction. Works may be viewed as either text or page images.