Liaison Librarian
Linguistics & Literature Databases
- LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, books, papers, monographs, dissertations on all aspects of language. - MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Websites
A vast amount of information is freely available on the Internet; however, some websites are more reputable than others. Whether the information you use is from a free website or from a library database, be sure to evaluate your sources carefully. The sites listed below include freely accessible primary and secondary sources pertaining to 19th century English literature.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the worldAn encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages.
- Glottopedia"Glottopedia is a freely editable encyclopedia for linguists by linguists that is currently being built up. It will contain dictionary articles on all technical terms of linguistics and is multilingual."
- The Linguist ListA forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information. Includes a "Language Resource Area" that contains information on languages and language families, plus links to websites devoted to natural and constructed languages, to writing systems, and to language resources, e.g., dictionaries.
- LinguaLinks Library"The library is a collection of resources for fieldworkers and language and culture learners. It is organized into eight collections with 149 book-length works and 235 journal issues. "