Social Work Careers
SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers
The SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers presents first-hand stories from practitioners to help inform, inspire, and guide students to become advocates for social justice issues. With a unique focus on advocacy and social justice, the book covers fundamentals of the social work profession--from coalition building to advocacy engagement and stakeholder outreach--across a range of practice areas, such as mental health, substance abuse, and criminal justice. Students in BSW and MSW programs will gain practical knowledge that will prepare them to successfully navigate their way to a rewarding career. Bundle and Save Bundle the SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers with any SAGE Social Work text for only $5 more! Contact your rep for more information. Also of Interest Introduction to Social Work: An Advocacy-Based Profession, Second Edition: Takes students to the roots of the social work profession by covering its history, practice settings, and career paths within a unique advocacy framework. Bundle the SAGE Career Guide to Social Work Careers with Introduction to Social Work using bundle ISBN 978-1-5443-3029-7.
101 Careers in Social Work
PRAISE FOR THE FIRST EDITION: This is a vital and necessary guide to the social work profession. This book clarifies the social work mission, goals, and objectives, and strengthens and promotes them as well. √>=Carmen Ortiz Hendricks, MSW, DSW, ACSW, LCSW Professor & Dean, Wurzweiler School of Social Work, Yeshiva University The authors do an excellent job of illustrating the uniqueness, diversity, and richness of the profession. I strongly recommend this book for use in social work orientation, advising, and education. √>=Saundra Starks, EdD, LCSW, Professor, Western Kentucky University What do documentary filmmakers, conflict mediators, forensic social workers, researchers, mental health practitioners, human services administrators, medical social workers, and policy advocates have in common? They are all potential careers for social workers. The second edition of this popular guide to social work careers has been completely updated and expanded to reflect current trends in social work education and social work practice, including the employment outlook in various fields of practice, current accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements, along with new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. With a focus on the interdisciplinary nature of social work, the book describes both traditional careers and those that are off the beaten path in such arenas as forensic social work, social entrepreneurship, working in political systems, international careers, and community practice. Well organized and written in a conversational tone, each chapter describes a particular social work domain, illustrating specific careers within that field including best features, challenges, required core competencies and skills, and educational and licensing requirements needed to succeed. For each career the book also discusses employment outlook and includes recommended references for more in-depth information. Vivid stories from social workers across the country further help readers to choose a career that is a good fit. Additionally, the book includes updated job-hunting tools and websites, including international opportunities, and ways to offset the high cost of higher education. Questionnaires and self-assessment checklists provide additional fodder to help readers choose a social work career tailored to their unique talents, interests, and passions. New to the Second Edition: Presents updated accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements Describes new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Discusses the impact of our current social, economic, and political climate on the profession Includes new career-planning and job-hunting tools Addresses how students can offset the high cost of higher education
Careers in Mental Health
Accessible and unbiased, Careers in Mental Health introduces upper-level high school students and beginning undergraduates to the different aspects of various mental health professions. Contains essential career advice for anyone considering an advanced degree in one of the "helping" professions within mental health Covers clinical psychology, counseling psychology, social work, counseling, marriage and family therapy, substance abuse counseling, and school psychology Clarifies the distinctions between professions by discussing the history and philosophy of each field, requirements for advanced education, licensing, available jobs, salary potential, and more Includes a section with practical information applicable to all the professions, such as characteristics for success, ethical issues, the importance of critical thinking, applying to graduate school, and current issues affecting the field of mental health
Many Paths, One Purpose
With all the career options in social work and human services, the right path or the best place to start may seem difficult to find. Many Paths, One Purpose identifies fifteen different career tracks in social work and human services and presents testimonials from professionals in each track. This comprehensive resource will be invaluable to individuals considering a career in social work or human services and those already in the profession.
Social Work Career Development
This is the most comprehensive book if its kind and a superb reference for any social worker. Updated to respond to changes in the job market and the profession since the best-selling first edition, this unique handbook addresses in detail the career management and job search needs of social workers, including self-assessment exercises, strategies for researching the job market and networking, details on curriculum vitaes and portfolios; tips on selecting master's and doctoral programmes, and much more.
Self-Care Resources
How to Flourish As a Psychotherapist
How do you develop a truly rich and rewarding career in psychotherapy? How can you find joy in such painful work? How do you develop your skills in the field? How can you conquer your creative inhibitions? In short, how do you flourish as a psychotherapist? Brett Kahr answers these questions, and so many more, in his brilliant new book, painting a frank portrait of the life of the psychotherapist. Taking the reader through the life cycle of the therapist, Brett offers lots of practical advice, from assessing one's suitability for the career, to managing one's finances, to preparing for death. His clear voice and style shine through in this authentic, readable narrative. Professor Kahr has produced a must-read, gripping account of how you can thrive in every respect in this complex and rewarding career. How to Flourish as a Psychotherapist should be required reading for every therapist, anyone considering taking up the career, and everyone who has ever wondered what kind of person becomes a therapist. This is a truly original work that should become compulsory reading by all in the field.
Help for the Helper
Therapist burnout is a pressing issue, and self-care is possible only when therapists actively help themselves. The authors examine the literature from neurobiology, social psychology, and folk psychology in order to explain how therapists suffer from an excess of empathy for their clients, and then they present strategies for dealing with burnout and stress.
Self-Help for Trauma Therapists
For those offering trauma-informed care, it can be difficult to maintain wellbeing and a balanced, positive outlook when the nature of their job requires frequent engagement with traumatic disclosures. Self-help for Trauma Therapists: A Practitioner's Guide intends to assist human service workers- such as those working as therapists, social workers and counsellors- to maintain their self- care and professional effectiveness when working in fields where stress and trauma play a key factor in their everyday working lives. Adopting a comprehensive, multi-layered approach to self-care based, the book grounds its exploration of practice through researched accounts with experience professionals. Including accounts from clinical psychologists, therapists, counsellors, social workers and the friends and family of people in these professions, this book creates a narrative on stress and trauma from the human service worker perspective. Interwoven with these stories of practice, the author includes reflections on her own experiences in practice over the past 25 years with trauma survivors. With discussions on risk and resilience, compassion fatigue and vicarious traumatisation, readers are introduced to the theories and practical applications of developing a professional model for maintaining wellbeing and self-care in their work. Self-help for Trauma Therapists: A Practitioner's Guideis the first book of its kind to be written solely for human service workers. It is essential reading for beginning and more advanced practitioners who are involved in working with trauma and recovery and will also be of interest to supporters of those working in the helping professions.
Mindfulness and Yoga for Self-Regulation
The first book to present mindfulness and yoga-based treatment for dysregulated, consumption-oriented disorders Mindfulness and yoga-based approaches as beneficial supplements to traditional mental health paradigms are well supported by empirical research. Although numerous texts have examined these approaches for treatment of depression, anxiety, and eating disorders, this is the first to address mindfulness and yoga-based approaches as embodied tools for reducing dysregulation associated with self-destructive and consumption-oriented behaviors. Introducing the basic theoretical foundations, key practices, and comprehensive protocols of mindfulness and yoga-based approaches for the treatment of externally oriented behaviors, the text is targeted at mental health professionals who wish to learn how to incorporate these techniques into their practice. The book explores the societal influences that lead to the externally oriented, idealized, and ultimately self-defeating concept of the individual. It provides the structure and practical applications for clinicians to help their clients overcome struggles with externally oriented behaviors and discover an internal sense of satisfaction and peace of mind. Tapping into the concept of a "hungry self" within the context of consumerism, the book advocates mindfulness and yoga approaches as alternate pathways toward a contented, regulated, and authentic experience of self. It addresses various aspects of the consumptive self and defines related syndromes such as disordered eating, compulsive shopping, substance use, and gambling. Creating a context for using alternative and complementary approaches, the book describes the challenges of traditional therapies. It then covers the conceptual aspects of mindfulness and yoga and describes specific protocols that facilitate behaviors associated with a healthy experience of the self for a variety of disorders. Key Features: Describes mindfulness and yoga approaches as an effective treatment for a range of consumption and self-regulation issues--the first book of its kind Explains how to integrate mindfulness and yoga with traditional mental health paradigms for maximum benefits Designed for clinicians with minimal background in yoga or mindfulness Combines a conceptual overview of embodied self-regulation with practical techniques Reviews treatment protocols informed by mindfulness and yoga practices covering their evidence base and contraindications for use
The resilient mental health practice : nourishing your business, your clients, and yourself
Independent practice and consultation services as a solo practitioner / Richard W. Sears -- Establishing, maintaining, and growing a group private practice / Ted Ossege and Jennifer M. Ossege -- Creating and sustaining an assessment/forensic-based practice / Steve Sparks -- Therapist as manager : supervising non-clinical staff and tasks / Jennifer M. Ossege and Ted Ossege -- Navigating the digital landscape : a practitioner's guide to moving through the rough terrain of the internet and social media / Jami Wilder and Heather Wilder -- Integration of clinical healthcare strategies : preparing clinicians for shifting roles / Kristy Fritz-Bosse and Jennifer M. Ossege -- Isolation, disconnection, and burnout : the importance of staying connected in private practice / Joy McGhee -- Work-life demands : practical tips for finding the balance / Emily Sander -- 25 strategies for engaging in self care / Laura Hensley and Andrea Schultz-Duncan.
The Resilient Practitioner
The Resilient Practitioner, 3rd edition, gives students and practitioners the tools they need to create their own personal balance between caring for themselves and caring for others. This new edition includes a new chapter on resiliency, an updated self-care action plan, self-reflection exercises in each chapter, and a revised resiliency inventory for practitioners. Readers will find, however, that the new edition keeps its strong focus on research and accessible writing style. The new edition also retains its focus on establishing working alliances and charting a hopeful path for practitioners, a path that allows them to work intensely with human suffering and also have a vibrant career in the process.
The Therapist's Workbook
Mental health professionals spend their days helping others, but who is there to help them when stress and burnout threaten their own well-being? Filled with self-assessments, journaling exercises, and activities designed to facilitate renewal, growth, and change, this timely book helps clinicians help themselves with coverage of career threatening issues, such as fear of failure, loss of confidence, and the financial stress and loss of autonomy that many clinician's experience as a result of managed care and its constraints.