JMU History
- JMU Historical Timeline 1908-1959Annotated list of significant events on campus.
- JMU Founding DocumentsOnline exhibit of documents in Special Collections.
- JMU Historic PhotographsCampus photos in Special Collections.
- JMU ArchivesIncludes alumni collections, faculty papers, and university archives.
- JMU Special Collections Oral HistoriesCollections of interviews about Harrisonburg and Virginia history, including some about student life at JMU.
Books Available in the Library
Some of these books have an extra copy available for in-library use in the Reference section on the 2nd floor of Rose Library. Click the links to see the library catalog records with more information about each book.
- A History of the Founding of the College of Integrated Science and Technology : a venture in education reform byCall Number: LD3141.M56577 R6 2005 (Rose)Publication Date: 2005
- Madison College: The First Fifty Years, 1908-1958 byCall Number: LD3141 .M56652 D5 (Rose)Publication Date: 1959
Dare to Dream: How James Madison University Became Coed and Shocked the Basketball World by Call Number: GV885.43.J36 C36 2015 (Rose)Publication Date: 2015
JMU Data and Official Publications
- MadisonAlumni magazine, previously titled "Montpelier" and "Madisonian".
- Student Handbook1912 - present.
- JMU CatalogsOnline course catalogs, 1994 - present.
- Office of Institutional ResearchIncludes data about JMU and comparisons to peer universities.
JMU Student Publications
- The BreezeJMU student newspaper
- CurioStudent magazine, 1978 -
- The Virginia Teachermonthly periodical published from 1920-1939. It includes scholarly articles about education, news from the school, editorials, correspondences, and reports from alumnae.
- The FixerUnderground student newspaper, 1969-1973.