Have a Question? Ask Me!
Reference Sources
The resources below are excellent for collecting background information. As you work on assignments, consider starting with one of these resources, gather some background information and insights, then begin searching in a database (see database tab to the left). It is recommended that you use UniProt to collect background information, but other biochemistry resources are available.
- UniProtUniProt is the world’s leading high-quality, comprehensive and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowPortal to the ASTM Book of Standards, research reports, and a digital library of journals, technical publications, data, proceedings and more.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowMonographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances, as well as chemical structure searching and drawing tools.
- PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Handbook & Encyclopedias
- CRC HandbookAlso known as the Chemists' Bible, the CRC Handbook contains property information.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyMulti-volume set containing encyclopedia entries for major events and processes in chemistry and technology.
- Lange's HandbookIncludes general data, figures, and tables on information broken down into 4 sections of chemistry: Inorganic, Organic, Spectroscopy, and General Information and Converstion Tables.
- Merck Index OnlineThe Merck Index contains 10,955 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances.
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical DictionaryA dictionary of chemical terms. Also contains information about Nobel scientists and Trademarked chemicals.