Research Guides: Tracking Government Data & Access: Archives of Government Data

Data Archives

Below is an overview of the leading initiatives and resources committed to ensuring the long-term accessibility of government information as well as a listing of some of the datasets they have saved.

The following resources currently are available from IPUMS. See the link below for access.

American Housing Survey
CDC National Youth Risk Behavior Survey
Current Population Survey Microdata
Global Health Data: DHS, MICS, PMA
Higher Ed: SESTAT, NSGC, NSRGC, SDR
IHGS
International Census Microdata
National Health: NHIS, MEPS
NHGIS
Time Use Surveys
U.S. American Community Survey
U.S. Census

CDC Data on the Internet Archive
An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.
Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection @ Harvard Dataverse
The Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection includes datasets from a number of US Federal agencies to enable research at the intersection of climate and human health.
Data and Screening Tools: CDC (Center for Disease Control) Social Vulnerability Index and Environmental Justice Index
These are resources from the Center for Disease Control. We will continue updating this page, provide guidance about the data, and ways to access this information for technical and non-technical folks.
Data and Screening Tools: Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool
This is Version 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024. Although the tool remains unchanged, public access through the White House was discontinued on January 22, 2025. We re-created Version 2 and made it publicly accessible.
Data from the District of Columbia Government
D.C. provides citizens with the access to almost 500 datasets from multiple agencies. Use the data catalog to subscribe to a live data feed in Atom format and access data in XML, Text/CSV, KML or ESRI Shapefile formats. Includes crime statistics, government service requests, licensing, permits and more.
DataLumos
DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
GODORT: 2025 Presidential Transition
GODORT is a government documents library group. They have complied a list of resources and toolkits related to the presidential transition.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Public Environmental Data Project
A volunteer coalition of several environmental, justice, and policy organizations, researchers across several universities, archivists, and students who rely on federal datasets and tools to support critical research, advocacy, policy, and litigation work.
Source Cooperative - Data.gov Mirror
A project of the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab, this is a regularly updated mirror of Data.gov, the US federal government data finding and storage site.
Web Archive: Council on Environmental Quality Environmental Justice Scorecard

Smaller Organizations and Projects

Archive Team Warriors
This website is intended to be an offloading point and information depot for a number of archiving projects, all related to saving websites or data that is in danger of being lost. Besides serving as a hub for team-based pulling down and mirroring of data, this site will provide advice on managing your own data and rescuing it from the brink of destruction.
r/Data Hoarder
This is a subreddit of data preservation activists that aims at bringing data hoarders together to share their passion with like minded people.