Provides an overview of African American theatre from the early 19th century to the early 21st century. Chronicles the evolution of African American theatre and its engagement with the wider community. Spotlights producers, directors, playwrights and actors.
Covers companies from across the U.S., anglophone Caribbean, and African-American companies touring Europe, Australia and Africa. Covers myriad styles, from African ritual to European forms, amateur to professional, and political nationalism to integration.
Considered a key resource since first published in 1968. Covers Western theatre from antiquity to the late 20th century with some coverage of Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Includes with over 530 images, illustrations, and maps.
Originally published in 2003 under title: Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance (listed below). Covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions with biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers.
Covers American drama from its inception in colonial America, through its many incarnations in the nineteenth century, to the early 21st century, including a full survey of the vexing tradition of minstrelsy and the struggles of Black Americans on the stage into the 20th century.
Charts the emergence, development, and diversity of African American Theatre and Performance--from the nineteenth-century African Grove Theatre to Afrofuturism with chapters from scholars are contributions from theatre makers, including producers, theatre managers, choreographers, directors, designers, and critics.
Provides in-depth biography in the literary context.
The best entries for this assignment will look like:
Arthur Miller (17 October 1915 - )
Gotthold Emphraim Lessing (22 January 1729 - 15 February 1781)