Background
The resources in the background section give you a place to begin your research and enough perspective and context to “Dig Deeper.” Using only resources from the background section will not be sufficient to complete your research.
Arts and Humanities Through the ErasCall Number: Reference NX440 .A787 2005An excellent multi-volume resource for starting research. See sections on “Architecture and Design,” “Fashion,” “Theatre,” and “Visual Arts.”
Encyclopedia of Interior DesignCall Number: Reference NK1165 .E48 1997Short entries, but good background. Use the terms and people found in this book to expand your research.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily LifeCall Number: Reference GT31 .G74 2004
The Complete Guide to Furniture StylesCall Number: NK2270 .B63 1969An old book with excellent historical coverage and images.
The Elements of StyleCall Number: Reference NA2850 .E445 2005
The Encyclopedia of FurnitureCall Number: Reference NK2205 .A7 1965
Digging Deeper in Library Catalog
For additional resources on architecture and interiors use the Theatre 273 Course Guide.
Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to find books on specific periods and countries.
Choose Subject from the drop-down box below and try these subjects:
Subject = Architecture – Greek
Subject = Art – Greek
Subject = Interior decoration
Subject = Interior decoration – History
Subject = Decorative arts – History
Subject = Stage props
Digging Deeper in Databases
- JSTOR Image Search This link opens in a new windowArtstor is now on JSTOR. Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndex of journals on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia covering art and artists worldwide in all fields of the visual arts.
Digging Deeper in Websites
- Global Performing Arts ConsortiumDigital images related to the performing arts from around the world. Search results are unpredictable. Take the Video Introduction to get started.
- J. Paul Getty MuseumSelect "browse" to access topics such as “Architecture and Room Elements,” “Decorative Objects and Vases,” and “Furniture.”
- New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowDigitized items from the New York Public Library, this is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
- Web Gallery of ArtContains art from a broad range of periods, including portraits and architecture.