Skip to main content
Search & Find
Find subject & course-specific resources curated by JMU librarians
Find articles, books, movies, and more
Find books, e-books and more
Find research databases by name and subject
Find journals by title
Find videos in our collection
Find recordings, sheet music & more
Find rare books, manuscripts, archive materials, and images
JMU Scholarly Commons
Find JMU faculty scholarship, journals, and more
Library Website Search
Search our site for people, services, and more
Call Number Locations
Find out where something is by its call number
Research Support & Teaching
Ask the Library
Help for students and faculty with research, teaching, technology, and more
Browse subject-specific resources curated by JMU librarians
Browse course-specific resources curated by JMU librarians
Find the librarian assigned to your department or major
Save citations, organize your research, and create bibliographies
Workshops, Programs, & Institutes
Register for learning opportunities for students and faculty
Innovate your teaching with an ACT Grant
Faculty can request information literacy sessions, custom instruction, digital assignment instruction, and more
Schedule a Consultation
We offer faculty in-depth help with research, technology, instruction, and more
Get immediate or in-depth help with classroom technology or learning technology
Research & Publishing
Learn how to connect to other researchers, copyright, open access publishing, and more
Find out about creating plans, using best practices, data repositories, and more
Open Educational Resources
Learn about using OER’s in your classes or how to create your own
Deposit and find JMU-authored research in our institutional repository
Get support for digital projects and assignments; experiment with emerging technologies, and more
Services & Spaces
Reserve a Group Study Room
Find a room where your group can work
Find a place to study, floorplans, building features, and more
Makerspaces with VR, 3D Printing, media labs, and more
Printing, Scanning, & Software
Learn about our printing and scanning services and what software is on our public computers
Checkout cameras, microphones, and more
Learn more about library services that assure access for all users
Borrow & Renew
Learn who can borrow, what can be checked out, how to renew, and more
Find resources assigned to a class by your professor or place items on reserve
Find out about services for distance learners
Document & Library Material Delivery
Request duplication and/or delivery of journal articles, book chapters, sheet music, and more
Request books, media, and articles not owned by JMU
Get help making videos for courses, convert media, and more
Learn how to access library resources from off campus
Suggest a Purchase
Suggest a resource you think we should have
Library hours for our locations
Library faculty & staff directory
Give to JMU Libraries
Help strengthen the libraries
Apply for a job in the library
Find out about our upcoming events
Come view our displays
Find out the latest news from the libraries
Learn about libraries policies and procedures
Connect with the libraries via social media
Learn about our commitment to diversity
About the Libraries
Statistics, reports, organization charts and more
Blogs & More
Search this Guide
Data Management: Blogs & More
Data Management Guide for Faculty, Researchers, and Students. The Data Services Coordinator can help you with your data management plans, teach workshops on best practices, and help identify repositories to find and deposit data.
What is a Data Management Plan?
What are the parts of a DMP?
Organization & Format
Sharing & Storage
IP and Copyright
Blogs & More
Data Management Blogs/Podcasts
Guidance and resources for your data management plan. Included on the blog is a link to webinar series, which features several helpful webinars on a diverse range of data management topics.
A variety of podcasts from Jisc, the UK champion of technology in education and research, covering research data, publishing, and technology in education
This ICPSR Blog provides a forum for announcements regarding data collection additions and research data sharing opportunities.
Practical Data Management for Bug Counters
Data management from an ecologist's point of view, but highly relevant across disciplines.
University of Wisconsin Data Services
YouTube channel for University of Wisconsin Data Services, which includes useful, short tutorials on naming protocols, data dictionaries, and more.
"The Data Conservancy will research, design, implement, deploy, and sustain data curation infrastructure for cross-disciplinary scientific discovery."
Data Information Literacy
"[R]esearch project investigating data information literacy (DIL) needs of e-scientists."
"We are the UK's leading hub of expertise in curating digital research data."
"DataCite will provide a mechanism to register research datasets and issue unique digital object identifiers (DOI names) to them."
"DataONE is designed to be the foundation of new innovative environmental research that addresses questions of relevance to science and society."
"Databib is a a community-driven, annotated bibliography of research data repositories. Follow this account to receive tweets when new repositories are added!"
IBM Big Data
"Talking about the challenges and approaches to handling Big Data."
Aug 6, 2018 12:04 PM
Login to LibApps