Request a Faculty Development Resource
- Faculty Development Resource RequestsLet us know about resources that can support your professional development in teaching, scholarship, and career planning
Need Help?
- Liaison Librarians
Offer one-on-one sessions to help with your scholarly project
Make an appointment
Overview
The number of avenues for publishing is constantly increasing. Authors also have more demands on their time and attention. So, this page provides tools to help you inform you about different options that meet your journal publishing needs.
In particular, the page provides tools that allow you
- to submit an abstract or manuscript for text analysis and journal recommendations
- to review publishing statistics (frequency, acceptance rate) to see if a journal meets your needs
General Tools
Resources here offer the following information:
-
Index of journals, along with publishing rates
-
Text analyzer that can recommend journals for publication
- Cabells Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new windowA tool for selecting those journals that will most likely publish your manuscript in the following areas: Accounting, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics & Finance, Educational Curriculum, Educational Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology, Geology, Health Administration, Management, Marketing, Mathematics, Nursing, Physics, Psychology & Psychiatry
- Edanz Journal SelectorSearch over 28,571 journals and 12,010,643 abstracts to find the journal that's right for you. Produced by a publishing support and editorial review company.
- Enago Open Access Journal FinderThe Enago Open Access Journal Finder enables you to find quality open access journals that are pre-vetted to protect you from predatory publishers.
- Elsevier Journal FinderElsevier® Journal Finder helps you find journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. It includes all journals indexed in Scopus (not just Elsevier journals). Please also consult the journal’s Aims and Scope for further guidance.
- Wiley Journal FinderWiley’s Journal Finder service delivers a detailed report on 3-5 journals from a range of publishers that are well matched to your article’s findings and your publication goals. We describe the rationale for including each journal in the report and provide key links and journal data to help you make an informed choice for your paper.
Health & Science
- APA Journal Statistics & Operations DataThese PDFs provide information about manuscript rejection rates, circulation data, publication lag time, and other journal statistics.
- Directory of Nursing JournalsThis list is to help nurse authors find suitable and reputable journals in which to publish their work. The International Academy of Nursing Editors (INANE) also intends this Directory to affirm, for readers and consumers of nursing literature, the credibility of literature sources used to guide practice, research, policy and education.
- IEEE Publication Recommender
- Search 190+ periodicals and 1800+ conferences
- Compare critical points such as Impact Factor and Submission-To-Publication Time
- Get all the key data about IEEE publications at a glance
- Download the results of your search
- Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find Articles'. JANE will then compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.
- PubMed's MeSH on DemandMeSH on Demand identifies MeSH® terms in your submitted text (abstract or manuscript). MeSH on Demand also lists PubMed similar articles relevant to your submitted text.
- Springer Journal SuggesterSearch all Springer and BMC journals (+2,500) to find the most suitable journal for your manuscript
Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new windowInformation on journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore
- JSTOR Text AnalyzerUpload a document in order to get prioritized terms and likely matched resources (journals, books, etc) to see who may be interested in your content.