Find a Case
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowGo to "Search by Subject or Topic" and choose "Federal and State Cases" or "Landmark Cases."
Cases in Communication Law by
"Of the sixty-one cases represented in the second edition of Paul Siegel's popular Cases in Communication Law, forty-one are U.S. Supreme Court decisions, eleven are federal appellate decisions, and four were decided at the federal district court level. The book also includes five state cases. Twenty-two of the cases presented here are new to this edition, including Republican Party of Minnesota v. White, ABC v. Stewart, Solano V. Playgirl, and Amrak Productions v. Morton. Cases dropped from the first edition will be made available on an author-maintained website (www.paulsiegelcommlaw.com). This casebook can be used on its own or as a companion to Siegel's Communication Law in America."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: KF2750.A7 C374ISBN: 9780742555853
Cases in Communications Law by
CASES IN COMMUNICATIONS LAW presents cases that will familiarize you with authoritative judicial reasoning on key principles of communications law. Most of the cases are from the United States Supreme Court and stand as precedents that all other courts in the nation must follow.
Call Number: KF2750.A7 Z44ISBN: 9780495050452
- FindLaw for Legal ProfessionalsReputable source for finding legal resources freely available on the Internet. If you are off-campus and having trouble connecting to LexisNexis, this is a possible replacement.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowSelect "U.S. Supreme Court Library" > "Official Reports" and search. Using the filter on the left, narrow to "Cases."
- Media Law ReporterISBN: 0148-1045
Making Sense of Your Case: Dictionaries
A few legal dictionaries that may help you decipher and use legal jargon.
- Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of LawGood, online dictionary for non-lawyers. Available for free through FindLaw.
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by ISBN: 9780314199492Publication Date: 2009-06-25With a reputation for quality and authority that is without peer, Black's Law Dictionary is a must-have reference for attorneys, paralegals, judges, and law students. This ninth edition offers more than 45,000 expertly crafted legal definitions containing an additional 2,000 new terms, nearly 3,000 quotations from legal authorities, and selected terms with their date of origin in American and/or British opinions.
Making Sense of Your Case: Encyclopedias
When a simple definition is not enough. Excellent sources for explanations of laws and cases, biographies and history. These are "tertiary" sources. You primarily use them to help lead you to primary sources and help you understand concepts.
- Censorship (Carrier Z658 .U5 C38 1997)Three-volume source with entries about cases as well as topics related to censorship throughout history. Although it is an older source, it still offers great historical information.
- Corpus Juris Secundum (Carrier KF154 C65)Comprehensive entries, alphabetically arranged and extensively footnoted, explain points of law. Cited as CJS.
- Encyclopedia of JournalismEverything you've always to know about gathering, editing, reporting, and distributing news.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Call Number: KF154.W47ISBN: 0787663670Available online and in Carrier Reference
Suggested Search Terms
- Censorship
- Free press and fair trial
- Freedom of information
- Freedom of speech
- Freedom of the press
- Government and the press
- Libel and slander
- Obscenity (Law)
- Press and politics
- Press law