Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NSG 390 & 391 - Chronic Illness: What's the Research Say?

Article Databases

How to Determine Peer Review

Don't just find any article, find high-quality articles!  Review the slides below about finding high-quality articles.

Organizing Your Research (Matrix Table)

A matrix is a useful tool that can help organize all of your research articles into one table for your research papers and assignments.

LibKey Nomad - Full Text Plug-In

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects you with articles that are library-licensed or open access. LibKey Nomad is available for Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi.

When using LibKey Nomad, you will automatically be directed to the best available version of an article so you don't need to search in multiple places. When the full text of an article is not available, you will be provided with options to request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

LibKey Nomad does not require you to create a personal account. It does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when you are on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.
 

Getting Started

  1. Install the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser of choice. (Note: A user account is not required to use the extension.)
  2. Search for and select "James Madison University" from the list of institutions. See images below.
  3. When you are on publisher websites, Wikipedia, PubMed, and more, you can look for the LibKey Nomad button to download PDFs.

LibKey Nomad browser extension institution lookup example


Publisher Websites

When you're browsing publisher sites and other web pages, LibKey Nomad provides a link to download the PDF of an article available through the JMU Libraries. It is not necessary to first connect through the JMU Libraries website. If the full text of the article is not available through the JMU Libraries subscriptions, an "Access Options" button will appear, and you will see options for requesting the article through ILL. See example in the image below.

Publisher webpage Libkey integration example


Wikipedia

LibKey Nomad also works with Wikipedia. When you're viewing the list of references for an entry, a "Download PDF" button will appear after the citations, if the full text of the article is available from JMU Libraries. An "Article Link" button may appear for citations that are from sources that do not support linking directly to the PDF. For articles not available from JMU Libraries, an "Access Options..." button will appear that provides options for requesting the articles through ILL. See example in the image below.

Wikipedia LibKey integration example


PubMed

When you're searching PubMed, LibKey Nomad shows options for downloading a PDF, linking to an article, or additional access options. You can also view the cover images of the journals that articles appear in. LibKey Nomad also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal. Click "View Complete Issue" to browse the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, helping you find similar articles from the same publication. See example in the image below.

LibKey example in PubMed