Reading Articles
Reading scientific articles can be hard: they are full of technical terms and methodologies. However, reading review articles and communications can be a great way to get into the literature. When searching databases and journals, keep an eye out for review articles and start with those!
Free Full-Text via Pubmed
Open Access Resources
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowFull text journal collection focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- BMC SeriesThe BMC series is a group of open access, peer reviewed journals that span all areas of biology and medicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man This link opens in a new windowAn online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders
- PLOS Biology"PLOS Biology features works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics. Our audience is the international scientific community as well as educators, policy makers, patient advocacy groups, and interested members of the public around the world."
- PLOS Medicine"PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings."
- PLOS ONE"The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results."
Video Tutorial for BioOne
Internet Resources
There are some Internet resources that could be useful in your information gathering. Be sure to critically evaluate the source! Is the site current? Relevant? Do you know who the author is? Can you verify the information? Is the information objective?
- Science.gov This link opens in a new windowSearches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
- PLANTS DatabaseThe PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- The Biota of North America ProgramThe Biota of North America Program (BONAP) has produced a variety of online resources, including local plant distributions, a polyclave or computer key to the families, and a plant image database.
- Tree of Life ProjectThe Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history
- Google Scholar SearchClick on the arrow to the right of the search box. It'll bring up the advanced search window that lets you search in the author, title, and publication fields, as well as limit your search results by date.
Image Resources
A picture is worth a thousand words, especially when you are trying to find the mitotic spindle! These resources can help you find biology images. All images must be cited and used within copyright permissions! Contact me with any questions regarding reusing images in presentations or papers.
- The Cell: An Image LibraryA freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
- Advanced Google Image SearchBe sure to check the Usage Rights option to limit to freely available images.
- Creative Commons (CC) SearchCC Search lets you search common websites like Google, Flickr, YouTube, and more to find images that are specifically available modify, adapt, or build upon or use commercially.