How to Find Journals and Articles
Research in biology is communicated mainly through peer-reviewed journal articles. Unless you are doing a historical retrospective, your research will probably focus on recently published articles.
Once you've found a few articles of interest, a great way to find even more relevant sources is by looking for related citations. Databases like Scopus and PubMed provide tools on the results page to help you do this.
Recommended Article Databases
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles about physical education curricula, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, standardized fitness tests, equipment, coaching, sport psychology, health education, and more.
What is Peer Review?
Peer review is one way to evaluate the quality of an article. Use these slides to learn:
- why peer review is important
- how to identify peer reviewed articles
Periodical Locator Search
Browse by Subject
Select Journals
Strength & Conditioning JournalThe professional journal for strength coaches, personal trainers, physical therapists, athletic trainers, and other professionals working in the strength and conditioning field..
Journal of Science and Medicine in SportAn international refereed research publication covering all aspects of sport science and medicine.
Journal of Applied Sport PhychologyA refereed journal designed to advance thought, theory, and research on applied aspects of sport and exercise psychology.