Background
This section represents only a small number of the general architecture books in the library.
Arts and Humanities Through the ErasCall Number: Reference NX440 .A787 2005
The Elements of StyleCall Number: Reference NA2850 .E445 2005
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureCall Number: N5610 .G76 2007 Internet
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century ArchitectureCall Number: NA680 .E495 2004
Digging Deeper in Library Catalog
Diggging Deeper in Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures.
Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndex of journals on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia covering art and artists worldwide in all fields of the visual arts.
Digging Deeper in Websites
- American Memory This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music documenting the American experience.
- Art Institute of ChicagoCollections on a broad range of cultures and topics including architecture and design, decorative arts, and textiles.
- J. Paul Getty MuseumSelect "browse" to access topics such as “Architecture and Room Elements,” “Decorative Objects and Vases,” and “Furniture.”
- National Gallery LondonPaintings searchable by artist century.
- National Portrait Gallery UKPortraits of famous British men and women.
- New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowDigitized items from the New York Public Library, this is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
- Victoria and Albert MuseumUse More Search Options to explore the V&A's vast collections, including costume, architecture, and decorative arts.
- Web Gallery of ArtContains art from a broad range of periods, including architecture.
