Background
This section represents only a small number of the interior design and furnishings books in the library.
The Encyclopedia of FurnitureCall Number: NK2205 .A7 1965
The Style SourcebookCall Number: NK1705 .M56 1998
Digging Deeper in Library Catalog
The Library catalog will locate books devoted to interior design and ornamentation. Experiment with searches such as:
General Arts Background
Subject = Arts - history
Interior Architecture
Subject = Interior architecture
Subject = Interior decoration
Furniture
Subject = Furniture
Subject = Furniture England
Subject = Furniture England history
Keyword = Furniture and catalog
Decoration and Ornamentation
Subject = Interior decoration
Subject = House furnishings
Subject = House decoration
Subject = Decorative arts
Subject = Decoration and ornament
Keyword = Design and exhibitions
Keyword = Design and exhibitions and England
Digging Deeper in Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures.
Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account - Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowDigitized full run of the world's most iconic illustrated newspaper from 1842-2003.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia covering art and artists worldwide in all fields of the visual arts.
Digging Deeper in Websites
- American Memory This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music documenting the American experience.
- National Gallery LondonPaintings searchable by artist and century.
- National Portrait Gallery UKPortraits of famous British men and women.
- New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowDigitized items from the New York Public Library, this is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
- Victoria and Albert MuseumUse More Search Options to explore the V&A's vast collections, including costume, architecture, and decorative arts. Berg Fashion Library contains the V&A's clothing collection.
- Web Gallery of ArtContains art from a broad range of periods, including portraits and architecture.
