Introduction
In professional practice, you'll use different types of resources to answer different questions.
- Clinical Background -- For quick questions like cause of a disease or what therapies are used.
- Article Databases -- For in-depth analysis and experiments comparing the effectiveness of two therapies.
Clinical Background
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource designed to inform point-of-care decisions.
Note:Users will need to create an individual account using these instructions - DynaMed This link opens in a new windowClinical reference tool created by physicians for use at point-of-care.
- Merck Manual This link opens in a new windowComprehensive medical resource for cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
Article Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
Evidence-Based Internet Sources
- ConsumerLabConsumerLab.com, LLC ("CL") is the leading provider of independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals identify the best quality health and nutrition products.
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsThe Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) fact sheets give a current overview of individual vitamins, minerals and other dietary supplements. ODS has fact sheets in two versions—Health Professional and Consumer. Both versions provide the same types of information but vary in the level of detail.