Research Methods
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA compilation of books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos from across the social sciences that helps users learn various research methodologies.
- SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new windowCollection of case studies of real social research designed to help users understand methods in practice.
Books
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Marc Spooner; and David A. Westbrook. SAGE is offering a 30% discount on the Handbook. Enter code DENZIN30 at checkout to apply the discount.
Call Number: H62 .H2455 2018ISBN: 9781483349800Publication Date: 2017-02-15
The Routledge Companion to Qualitative Research in Organization Studies by
This comprehensive bookcollects contributions from leading international scholars to highlight the diverse qualitative approaches available to organizational researchers, each grounded in its own philosophy. The editors provide a cutting edge, globally oriented resource on the state of qualitative research methodologies, helping readers to grasp the theories, practices, and future of the field. Beginning with an overview of qualitative methodologies, the book examines ways in which research employing these techniques is conducted in a variety of disciplines, including entrepreneurship, innovation, strategy, information systems, and organizational behavior. It offers timely updates on how traditions like case studies, ethnographies, historical methods, narrative approaches, and critical research are practiced today and how emerging trends, including increasing legitimacy and feminization, are impacting the domain. The final chapters provide templates for engaging with the future as well as essays that critically assess how qualitative inquiry has evolved within organization studies. Readers will become acquainted with contemporary tools for conducting qualitative studies, learning to appreciate the emerging domains of qualitative inquiry within a dynamic and complex organizational world. Doctoral students and early-career researchers in organizational studies, especially those engaged with general management, organizational behavior, human resource management, innovation, entrepreneurship, and strategy, will benefit from reading this relevant and inclusive handbook.
Call Number: HD30.4 M577 2017 InternetISBN: 9781315686103Publication Date: 2017-08-29
Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research by
The field of community psychology has focused on individuals' and groups' behavior in interaction with their social contexts, with an emphasis on prevention, early intervention, wellness promotion, and competency development. Over the past few decades, however, community-based applications ofthe newest research methodologies have not kept pace with the development of theory and methodology with regard to multilevel data collection and analysis. The Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research is intended to aid the community-oriented researcher in learning about and applying cutting-edge quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches. The Handbook presents a number of innovative methodologies relevant tocommunity-based research, illustrating their applicability to specific social problems and projects. These methodological approaches explore individuals and groups in interaction with their communities and provide examples of how to implement and evaluate interventions conducted at the communitylevel. The chapters discuss how particular methodologies can be used to help gather and analyze data dealing with community-based issues. Furthermore, they illustrate the benefits that occur when community theorists, interventionists, and methodologists work together to better understandcomplicated person-environment systems and the change processes within communities.
Call Number: HM1033 .H3556 2016ISBN: 9780190243654Publication Date: 2016-01-08
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Call Number: H61.S234ISBN: 9781412941631Available online and in Carrier Library
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.