Finding your topic and how to develop a question
- Topic development guide for music education majors (PICO)A simple tool to help you focus your research on a specific topic with examples of successful music education research that has elements of the "PICO" format.
Understanding your topic
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia suite with articles and cross references covering music and musicians worldwide.
- Oxford Dictionary of Music This link opens in a new windowInformation on musical composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, as well as musical instruments and their histories.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowComplete Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, as well as videos, blogs, news, research tools, and links to editor-selected websites.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowSingle-source reference for the study of the Greco-Roman world containing extended articles, interactive maps, audio, and images on topics ranging from ancient economy, Jewish studies, to Roman law and Greek mythology.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new windowFeatures a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians This link opens in a new windowReference material with authoritative information on musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.
- Oxford Companion to Music This link opens in a new windowArticles that define musical ideas and terminology, describe musical forms and styles, and places music in its social and cultural context.
