Background
Clothing Through American HistoryCall Number: GT607 .S73 2011
This section represents only a small number of the costume and fashion books in the library. You can find books on costume and fashion (print and eBooks) in the below call number ranges with the browse tool (choose LC Call Number from the pulldown menu):
- GT 500 - GT 2346 – Fashion; social aspects of clothing
- PN 2067 - PN 2068 & PN 2085 - PN 2091 – Costumes for performance, stage design & lighting
- TT 490 - TT 820 – Dressmaking; tailoring; technical considerations, needlework
Common Man Through the CenturiesCall Number: GT720 .B37
Complete Costume HistoryCall Number: Reserves GT510 .R3313 2003
Costume Designer's HandbookCall Number: TT507 .I46 1992
Costume in Detail: Women's Dress, 1730-1930.Call Number: GT580 .B67 1968
Costuming for OperaCall Number: MT955 .V36
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionCall Number: Reference GT507 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of World Dress and FashionCall Number: Reference GT507 .E54 2010
Fashion Design, 1850-1895Call Number: GT580 .F37 1997
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000Call Number: GT580 .N85 2000
Historic Costumes in PicturesCall Number: GT513 .H57 1975
Western European Costume and Its Relation to the TheatreCall Number: GT720 .B73 1963 v.1-2
What People WoreCall Number: GT513 .G6 1994
Digging Deeper in Library Catalog
Creative Research
Paintings, photographs, and advertisements are rich resources for costume design ideas. Keyword searching in the JMU Library catalog will return a variety of resources. Browse the titles to determine relevance. Experiment with keywords such as:
Keyword = Japan pictorial works
Keyword = plantations pictorial works
Keyword = advertising history pictorial works
Keyword = 19th century pictorial works
Digging Deeeper in Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures.
Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account - Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowColor images, academic eBooks, museum directory, exhibition archive, reference works, and teaching resources relating to the world of dress and fashion.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowDigitized full run of the world's most iconic illustrated newspaper from 1842-2003.
Digging Deeper in Websites
- The Cabinet Card GalleryVictorian cabinet card photographs.
- Global Performing Arts ConsortiumDigital images related to the performing arts from around the world. Search results are unpredictable. Take the Video Introduction to get started.
- New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowDigitized items from the New York Public Library, this is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more
- Ringling CollectionPhotographs of 19th Century actors and actresses.
- Web Gallery of ArtContains art from a broad range of periods, including portraits and architecture.