Skip to Main Content

Language & Linguistics: Find Reference Sources

Resources for researching the English language and linguistics.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Use encyclopedias and handbooks to identify background information about a given topic.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language
Call Number: P29 .C64 2010
Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics
Call Number: P29 .E48 2006 v. 1-14
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
Call Number: P29 .E4834 2012 v.1-2
The Handbook of English Linguistics
Call Number: PE1106 .A27 2006
The Handbook of Historical Linguistics
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Call Number: P29 I58 2003 v.1-4

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Use dictionaries to find definitions and the histories of words. Use thesauri to find synonyms and antonyms.

Dictionary of American Regional English
Call Number: PE2843 .D52 1985 v.1-5
A Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English
Call Number: PE3721 .P3 1984
Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary
Call Number: PE1591 .H55 2009
The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English
Call Number: PE3721 .P3 2006 v.1-2
Oxford English Dictionary
Call Number: PE1625 .O87 1989

OED Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of the Oxford English Dictionary and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED.

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

MSC 1706
Burruss Hall 016
540-568-6779

Subjects: Advertising, English, Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Media Arts & Design, Media Arts & Design (SMAD)