Key Journals
The American Journal of NursingThis publication existed since 1900 so it often covers historical events and people in nursing from the time period itself. Use JSTOR to access articles from the 20th century.
RN MagazineAvailable in CINAHL, RN Magazine provides information from 1937-present.
Nursing InquiryThe journal has special episodes that focus on history of nursing topics. Articles tend to provide a broad overview, such as on missionary nursing, not specific entries on individuals.
International journal of nursing studiesThis publication existed since 1963 so it often covers historical events and people in nursing from the time period itself.
Journal of nursing educationThis publication exists from 1962-present so it often covers historical information from the time period.
Article Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new windowBibliographic entries for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science, technology, and medicine.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada.
Search by DOI or PubMed ID Number (full)
What is a DOI?
DOI stands for Document Object Identifier. This is a unique identifier that is assigned to an online journal article, online book or online book chapter. Most publishers assign these to their online content. A DOI can take you directly to an online resource, but JMU Libraries does not always have access at a publisher site.
Example DOI: 10.3390/ijms21031053
What is a PubMed ID (PMID)?
PMID is a unique identifier used in the PubMed database and can be used to look up abstracts in PubMed.
Example PMID: 32033398