Humanities Librarian
Library of Virginia: World War I History Commission Questionnaires
- World War I History Commission Questionnaires guide"Military Service Record and Nurses' Questionnaires submitted by WWI military and civilian personnel. Also includes content submitted by counties and cities such as draft board records, solider biographies, and military unit histories." Search the collection.
- World War I History Commission Questionnaires catalogBrowse the collection.
- A Guide to the Virginia War History Commission, 1915-1931This finding aid provides further information about this collection.
Library of Virginia: More Resources
- Virginia’s Participation in World War I guideA round up of their collections related to World War I.
- Virginia Chronicle"A historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over 4 million newspaper pages."
Massanutten Regional Library
- Genealogy & Local HistoryOur local public library offers resources related to genealogy and local history.
Featured Book
Virginia and the Great War: Mobilization, Supply and Combat, 1914-1919 by "Virginia played an important role during World War I, supplying the Allied forces with food, horses and steel in 1915 and 1916. After America entered the war in 1917, Virginians served in numerous military and civilian roles--Red Cross nurses, sailors, shipbuilders, pilots, stenographers and domestic gardeners. More than 100,000 were drafted--more than 3600 lost their lives. Almost every city and county lost men and women to the war. The author details the state's manifold contributions to the war effort and presents a study of monuments erected after the war."
Background Information
The Cambridge History of the First World War. Volume 1, Global War
Ebook. "This first volume of The Cambridge History of the First World War provides a comprehensive account of the war's military history. An international team of leading historians charts how a war made possible by globalization and imperial expansion unfolded into catastrophe, growing year by year in scale and destructive power far beyond that which anyone had anticipated in 1914. Adopting a global perspective, the volume analyses the spatial impact of the war and the subsequent ripple effects that occurred both regionally and across the world."
The Cambridge History of the First World War. Volume 2, The State
Ebook. "Volume 2 of The Cambridge History of the First World War offers a history of the war from a predominantly political angle and concerns itself with the story of the state. It explores the multifaceted history of state power and highlights the ways in which different political systems responded to, and were deformed by, the near-unbearable pressures of war. Every state involved faced issues of military-civilian relations, parliamentary reviews of military policy, and the growth of war economies; and yet their particular form and significance varied in every national case."
The Cambridge History of the First World War. Volume 3, Civil Society
Ebook. "Volume 3 of The Cambridge History of the First World War explores the social and cultural history of the war and considers the role of civil society throughout the conflict; that is to say those institutions and practices outside the state through which the war effort was waged. Drawing on 25 years of historical scholarship, it sheds new light on culturally significant issues such as how families and medical authorities adapted to the challenges of war and the shift that occurred in gender roles and behaviour that would subsequently reshape society."
A Companion to World War I
Ebook. "Provides extensive coverage spanning the pre-war period, the military conflict, social, economic, political, and cultural developments, and the war's legacy Offers original perspectives on themes as diverse as strategy and tactics, war crimes, science and technology, and the arts."