Business Librarian
Supply Chains / October 2022
Operations management professor Willy Shih wrote a WSJ Report this summer explaining Seven Things You Should Know to Understand the Supply Chain (Shih, 2022). For October 2022, here are 12 books from JMU’s print and electronic collections that discuss supply chains in more detail.
Find more materials about this topic by searching "supply chain" in JMU's Library Search.
Unraveled: The life and death of a garment
A groundbreaking chronicle of the birth--and death--of a pair of jeans, that exposes the fractures in our global supply chains, and our relationships to each other, ourselves, and the planet.
Supply Chain Security
This book uses theoretical and practical knowledge to define security in the supply chain as a state that gives a sense of certainty and guarantees the flow of material goods and services (in accordance with the 7w rule) as well as a smooth flow of information for the planning and management of logistics processes.
Political Risk Management for the Global Supply Chain
This book provides an overview of basic political terminology and political risk management; presents the basic processes of political risk management and examines the current and future impacts of political events on global supply chains.
Sustainable and Green Supply Chains and Logistics Case Study Collection
The third volume of the Supply Chain Case Study Collection, this book contains real-life scenarios from leading companies who are pursuing a sustainability agenda. Cases cover sustainability and 'green' practices in a range of different industries, from food through to manufacturing and construction, and in a variety of organization sizes.
Private Regulation of Labor Standards in Global Supply Chains
This book examines the effectiveness of corporate social responsibility on improving labor standards in global supply chains. t presents data from companies, multi-stakeholder institutions, and auditing firms in a comprehensive, investigative dive into the world of private voluntary regulation of labor conditions. The picture he paints is wholistic and raw, but it considers several ways in which this private voluntary system can be improved to improve the lives of workers in global supply chains.
Supply Chain Planning: An Analytics-based Approach
In this book, we present proven, practical management frameworks used by the authors to support supply chain operations management and planning in private industry. These frameworks provide methodologies for managing critical activities such as supply chain strategic planning and project selection, manufacturing and distribution planning, performance measurement, supply chain risk management, and customer logistics and inventory deployment.
Inventory analytics
This textbook provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the theory and practice of inventory control - a significant research area central to supply chain planning. The book outlines the foundations of inventory systems and surveys prescriptive analytics models for deterministic inventory control.
Supply chain leadership : Developing a people-centric approach to effective supply chain management
This book addresses 'big-picture' supply chain leadership and provides a roadmap and practical advice to help supply chain leaders to successfully navigate this challenging social and technical environment.
Practical Finance for Operations and Supply Chain Management
An introduction to financial tools and concepts from an operations perspective, addressing finance/operations trade-offs and explaining financial accounting, working capital, investment analysis, and more.
Consumption-Based Forecasting and Planning
This book shows readers how to improve demand forecasting and planning accuracy, reduce inventory costs, and minimize waste and stock-outs and what is driving shifting consumer demand patterns, including factors like price, promotions, in-store merchandising, and unplanned and unexpected events
Global Supply Chain: Using Systems Engineering Strategies to Respond to Disruptions
The book presents the basic tools of industrial engineering applicable to a dynamic supply chain system. It recognizes the nuances of human factors in any commerce and industry and covers the basic elements of a supply chain from a systems perspective.
Warehouse Management
Modern warehouses are capitalizing on cutting-edge technologies, new operating models and innovative practices to maximize their role in the wider supply chain. This bestselling book covers an extensive range of key topics from defining the modern warehouse, detailing management processes, strategies and practices to outlining how to tackle environmental challenges to ensure a sustainable supply chain.