ICD-11: the next evolution in healthcare.

ICD seamlessly replaces ICD-10, bringing unprecedented accuracy and precision to every health domain. Record every clinical detail effortlessly and embrace modern health concepts that improve outcomes across the board.

ICD-11 isn’t just an upgrade—it’s a transformation. With enhanced interoperability, it integrates flawlessly with today’s digital systems, supporting seamless global data exchange. Get faster, more accurate reimbursement, and unlock the potential of AI and advanced analytics.

Policy and System Information
ICD-11 provides a unified framework enabling policymakers to align healthcare initiatives nationally and globally.

Resource Optimization and better Health
ICD-11 supports accurate resource allocation and cost management through enhanced data quality

Healthcare Innovation
ICD-11 fosters advancements in AI and analytics through detailed and interoperable data.

Designed for the future, built for today. ICD-11 ensures your healthcare system is ready for what's next.

WHO Advances Implementation and Integration of ICD-11 and Related Medical Classifications and Terminologies

Geneva, Switzerland – May 2024 – As of May 2024, two years following the official coming into effect of ICD-11, 132 Member States and areas are at various phases of implementing the new classification system. Specifically, 72 countries have commenced the implementation process, including translation efforts. Additionally, 50 countries are either conducting or expanding implementation pilots, and 14 countries and areas have begun to collect or report data using ICD-11 coding.

Coinciding with the ICD-11 2024 release, three new language versions of ICD-11 have been officially launched. 10 languages, Arabic, Chinese, Czech, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish and Uzbek are available, with translations in an additional 25 languages underway.

The ICD-11 2024 version features enhanced diagnostic details and improved digital tools to support global health systems.

The ICD-11 2024 version includes over 200 new codes for allergens, providing greater diagnostic detail and precision. In addition, digital tools and APIs have been significantly improved. This release includes the candidate version of the WHO Digital Open Rule Integrated Cause of Death Selection (DORIS) tool, now available in multiple languages, alongside updated APIs. This comprehensive upgrade is expected to improve and strengthen the quality of cause of death information across all member states, supporting better health data management and policy-making.

To facilitate the transition from ICD-10 to ICD-11, WHO has enhanced the digital mapping tables with additional mapping options, offering comprehensive cross-references and guides. These enhancements aim to ensure a smoother and more efficient migration process for all countries.

By 2024, the WHO has made significant progress in linking various medical classifications and terminologies to enhance global health interoperability. This includes lossless mapping of MedDRA (Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities) to facilitate accurate reporting of drug-related information, embedding medical device nomenclature for consistency across international health systems, and incorporating Orphanet terminology to improve the classification and understanding of rare diseases. Additionally, WHO is establishing approaches for technical collaboration and linkages with the MONDO Disease Ontology to support accurate disease classification, initiating design efforts with LOINC (Logical Observation Identifiers Names and Codes) to link laboratory and clinical observations with interventions, and exploring potential methods and frameworks for collaboration with other terminology systems to enhance comprehensive health information management.

_________________ 

ICD serves a broad range of uses globally and provides critical knowledge on the extent, causes and consequences of human disease and death worldwide via data that is reported and coded with the ICD. Clinical terms coded with ICD are the main basis for health recording and statistics on disease in primary, secondary and tertiary care, as well as on cause of death certificates. These data and statistics support payment systems, service planning, administration of quality and safety, and health services research. Diagnostic guidance linked to categories of ICD also standardizes data collection and enables large scale research.

For more than a century, the International Classification of Diseases (ICD) has been the basis for comparable statistics on causes of mortality and morbidity between places and over time. Originating in the 19^th century, the latest version of the ICD, ICD-11, was adopted by the 72^nd World Health Assembly in 2019 and came into effect on 1^st January 2022.   

Read more

ICD Implementation across WHO Member States

All Member States are committed to using the most recent version of ICD. 2022 is the first year where ICD-11 is officially in effect. 

• ICD-10 Browser (Latest version, 2019)
• ICD-10 Training
  
• List of Official ICD-10 Updates
• FAQ on ICD
• ICD-10 Update platform (Archive)

Previous online versions of ICD-10:

Mappings

ICD-10 to Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (MedDRA) maps  

First World Health Assembly 

Convention of 30 April 1948 

The Delegates entrusted WHO, as one of its functions, with the task of establishing and revising the necessary international nomenclatures of diseases and causes of death, giving the World Health Assembly authority to adapt regulations in respect, such as nomenclatures, for consideration and action, the International Statistical Classification of Diseases, Injuries and Causes of Death and accompanying recommendations, destined to improve international uniformity and comparability of statistics of morbidity and mortality.

ICD revisions under the auspices of WHO