History of Eighteenth-Century Britain & Ireland

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. Parts of the collection are only available to subscribers.

This website provides a unified search interface for over 20 digital collections covering Britain from 1500 to 1900. Researchers may also link to individual collections. Most of the resources are free; some require a subscription. Examples of collections pertinent to the 18th century include:
* History of Parliament
* Strype's Survey of London
* British Museum Images

Google has digitized thousands of books and magazines and made them searchable. Use this advanced search interface for precise searching. You may be able to access the full text of books that are out of copyright. If an item is only available in "snippet view" or "limited preview," you may be able to obtain that item from our own collection or via Interlibrary Loan.

A rich collection of primary sources covering England from ca. 500 to 1914. The subject coverage is broad and each document has an introduction and bibliography. Volumes 8 through 11 cover 1660 to 1832.

Rich website linking to primary sources for all periods of European history. Organized first by country, and then loosely chronologically. Includes transcriptions, facsimiles, and, sometimes, translations. Maintained at Brigham Young University.

From the Digital Bodleian: "A project to digitize all 36 volumes of William Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England. The Parliamentary History, published between 1812 and 1820, compiled records of parliamentary proceedings "from the earliest period to the year 1803" (after which, Hansard's records of parliamentary debates begins). Thirty of the volumes cover the period from the accession of Queen Anne in 1702 to 1803."

Digitized copies of all 36 volumes through the HathiTrust.

From the UK Parliamentary Archives, this guide describes various access to records related to Hansard.

This multifaceted tool places art works from the Metropolitan Museum's collection within geographical and chronological context. It has excellent thematic essays (background information) that cover the historical eras and cultures that produced the works of art (the primary sources), along with maps and key events from each place and time period.

Allows researcher to map digital resources onto a 1746 map of London.

Access to digitized maps from the Library of Congress.

Access to maps from research libraries around the world. You may search a place and a time period to find high-resolution maps.

Indexes over 460,000 books that were published between 1473 and 1800 primarily in Britain and North America. Works are predominantly in English and are from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.

Call Number: Z2002 .W5
Location: Carrier Reference