It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of full-text reference books in the humanities and social sciences. Includes A Companion to 19th Century America, A Companion to American Immigration, A Companion to the American South, and A Companion to the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Reference resource covering fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
Eicher lists the major sources on the War. Arrangement is topical with areas on battles and campaigns, memoirs and letters, general works, unit histories, etc. An excellent introduction and annotations enhance this bibliography.
Wright began this work by locating Confederate titles in book dealer's catalogs. He has added pamphlets and articles from over 150 journals. Major tools, e.g. Southern Historical Society Papers and Confederate Veteran are incorporated into this bibliography. Arranged alphabetically by author (or title when author is lacking).
A guide to the best secondary literature on 600 topics in American history. Each topical entry lists secondary works; the entry then discusses each of these works in relation to one another and in historiographical context.
This A-Z encyclopedia covers more Civil War figures in more detail than any other such reference. It includes more than 500 biographies of prominent men and women who played a part in the war, written by their contemporaries.
Although dated, an excellent starting place for world history. Arranged in 48 topical sections, contains extensive bibliographies, mostly covering English-language publications published between 1961 and 1992. Each bibliographic section is preceded by a short historiographical essay that provides an overview of trends in scholarship.
Individual volumes are available by state. Carrier Library has the volumes for Virginia and North Carolina. For each military unit, information may include name, nickname, unit organization and ending/surrender date, commanders, assignments and battles. A brief bibliography completes this work.
The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. In more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
Extending from the 1870s to World War I, the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era mark a a major turning point in American history. This illustrated encyclopedia provides definitive coverage of all the social and cultural developments of the period as well as its political and economic history.
This is the first truly comprehensive treatment to cover all aspects of 19th-century history including: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life and foreign policy.
Drawn from the library's unparalleled Civil War collections, including previously unpublished letters and diaries, maps and photographs, as well as thousands of works by post-Civil War scholars and experts, this is the ultimate one-volume reference on the Civil War.
Provides fairly extensive overview in the introduction, covering the causes, the course of the war, and the conclusion. It is then followed-sometimes almost day-by-day-in the chronology. Hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries, taking up over 1,500 pages, fill in the basic details on persons, places, events, institutions, battles, and campaigns. The bibliography directs readers to other sources of information.
Pithy, readable articles, spanning the years 1862-96, reflect current scholarship on the period and thus focus heavily on race relations, the freed slaves, and restoration of the states. There are entries on court cases, terms ("blacks," "labor," etc.), organizations, states, laws, miscellaneous events, and major individuals.
The extensive chronology, introductory essay, dictionary entries, and comprehensive bibliography introduce and lead the reader through the military and non-military actions of one of the most pivotal events in American history.