History of Nineteenth-Century America

Host by University of North Carolina Greensboro. "An expanding resource compiling independent collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface. DLAS houses tens of thousands of records relating to all 15 slave states and Washington, D.C. as well as a number of northern states. DLAS contains detailed personal information about over 100 thousand individuals, including enslaved people, enslavers, free people of color, and more."

A collection of digitized primary source documents from the American South sponsored by the University Library of UNC-CH. It offers documents from a variety of university libraries covering the Colonial era into the 20th century.

The Internet Archive is a non-profit website offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world. It is the library of the U.S. Congress and home of the U.S. Copyright Office. Search their website for digital collections.

Online collections from the Library of Congress. Includes many of the American Memory collections.

Supported by the United Nations, this portal gathers digitized primary sources of every type from worldwide repositories, including many national museums and libraries.

Google has digitized thousands of books and magazines and made them searchable. Use this advanced search interface for precise searching. You may be able to access the full text of books that are out of copyright. If an item is only available in "snippet view" or "limited preview," you may be able to obtain that item from our own collection or via Interlibrary Loan.

"While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands."

A platform that provides access to digital collections of primary sources from libraries, archives, and museums from across the United States.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1860s to today.

This multifaceted tool places art works from the Metropolitan Museum's collection within geographical and chronological context. It has excellent thematic essays (background information) that cover the historical eras and cultures that produced the works of art (the primary sources), along with maps and key events from each place and time period.

Provides historical information on county boundaries within each state, access to PDF volumes from the print series, and interactive boundary maps. Developed at the Newberry Library.

Access to digitized maps from the Library of Congress.

Access to maps from research libraries around the world. You may search a place and a time period to find high-resolution maps.

A searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company from the collections of the Geography and Map Division at the Library of Congress. Digital maps are in color.

"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2015."